All 20 candidates of the LDF have completed two rounds of attending events in the constituency they are contesting from.

LDF completes initial round of campaigning to start door to door campaigns
news Lok Sabha 2019 Saturday, March 23, 2019 - 10:41

The Left Democratic Front (LDF) usually announces its candidate list for elections early on, often when its opponents are still deliberating. This gives the Left Front in the state an edge, regardless of the final verdict.

While the Congress selected its candidates a few days ago and the NDA is yet to declare its list, the CPI(M)-led coalition in the state has completed two weeks of campaigning. It has also completed conventions at four layers — at the booth level, panchayat level, constituency level and parliament level.

All 20 candidates of the LDF have completed two rounds of attending events in the constituency they are contesting from. In the initial phase, they also met voters at educational institutions, markets and other public places.

CPI(M) MP MB Rajesh 

Speaking to TNM, LDF convener A Vijayaraghavan said that women squads have been formed, and for the next phase, candidates will mostly be going from door to door to campaign.

“We have also begun to convene election meetings in which the leaders are participating. On Saturday, the first round of public campaign will begin. It has been planned in a way that all candidates would complete three rounds of public campaigns. From March 31, their campaigns with CPI(M) General Secretary Sitaram Yechury, Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan, CPI(M) State Secretary Kodiyeri Balakrishnan and other prominent leaders will begin. In the first phase, Yechury will cover the southern districts,” he said.

Of the 20 seats in the state, as part of the LDF, the CPI(M) will be contesting from 16 seats, and the CPI from four.

Among the LDF candidates, six are sitting MLAs. While CPI announced its list on March 4, CPI(M) announced its list on March 9. 

 According to Vijayaraghavan, the initial phase of campaigning received an enthusiastic response from the people. “It has been getting accepted well. This time, house campaigning has given much more focus,” he said.

The sitting MPs who are re-contesting are: A Sampath in Attingal, MB Rajesh in Palakkad, PK Biju in Alathur, PK Sreemathy in Kannur and Innocent in Chalakudy. 

Opposition Leader Ramesh Chennithala of the Congress, however, has alleged that the habit of the Left is that they declare candidates early, only to lose. “This time, that optimism of Chennithala would be proved wrong,” Vijayaraghavan said.

The Congress and the CPI(M) will go head to head in 12 of the 20 constituencies in Kerala.

The decision for which candidates will be contesting on the Congress ticket was completed in three phases. The candidates for 12 seats was decided on March 17, the decision regarding four seats came on March 19. It took almost one more day to allocate the Vadakara seat in Kozhikode district.

The BJP-led NDA, on the other hand, decided on seat allocation on Wednesday but is yet to announce its candidates.

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.