This comes after the Ministry of External Affairs revoked Mallya’s passport on Sunday.

The King of good times set to become the 15th MP to be expelled Heres the full listPTI/file photo
news Friday, April 29, 2016 - 15:35

As the Indian government on Thursday formally requested British authorities to deport ‘wilful defaulter’ Vijay Mallya from UK, back home he is likely to lose his Rajya Sabha membership too.

Following massive media scrutiny on the issue, the Rajya Sabha ethics committee headed by Congress leader Karan Singh on Monday decided to give Mallya one-week time to explain his conduct related to his alleged loan default of over Rs 9,400 crore rupees.

This comes after the Ministry of External Affairs revoked Mallya’s passport on Sunday.

Mallya has been in the UK since March 2 ignoring repeated court summons.

However, even if Mallya is finally expelled on May 3 when the parliamentary panel meets to decide on his fate, he would be the 15th MP to be expelled.

 These are the list of MPs expelled since 1951:

 1) HG Mudgal (Congress) : He was the first MP to be expelled from the parliament. In 1951 he was expelled for accepting money.

2) Subramanian Swamy (Jan Sangh):  In 1976, he was thrown out of the house after a parliamentary panel found his conduct to be unsatisfactory with respect to the decorum of the house.

3) Indira Gandhi (Congress)  : The Lok Sabha in 1977 expelled Indira Gandhi from the Lok Sabha for serious obstruction, intimidation, harassment, and institution of false cases initiated by her against some officials for collecting information.

Eleven MPs were expelled from the parliament when their conduct was found to be  "unethical and unbecoming" in December, 2005. These 11 MPs were seen in a sting operation taking money for asking questions in the house.

4) Annasahed M K Patil (BJP)  

5) Y G Mahajan (BJP)

6) Suresh Chandel (BJP)

7) Pradeep Gandhi (BJP)

8) Chandra Pratap Singh (BJP)

9) Narendra Kumar Kushwaha (BSP)

10)Lal Chandra Kol (BSP)

11)Rajaram Pal (Congress)

12)Manoj Kumar (RJD)

13) Ramsevak Singh (Congress)

14) Chattrapal Singh Lodha (BJP)

According to Article 194 (3) in the case of State legislatures and Article 105 (3) in case of Parliament, elected representatives can suspend or expel fellow members.



Show us some love and support our journalism by becoming a TNM Member - Click here.