Kerala local body polls record 78.64% voter turnout in final phase

The polling was largely peaceful except for a clash between IUML workers and the police in Nadapuram.
Pinarayi Vijayan
Pinarayi Vijayan
Written by:

The third and final phase of Kerala local body polls recorded a high polling of 78.64% on Monday. The highest turnout was in Kozhikode district, 79% and the lowest was in Kasaragod district 77.14%. A total of 70,27,534 people voted in the polls in the final phase.

The polling was largely peaceful except for a clash between Indian Union of Muslim League (IUML) workers and the police in Nadapuram. The clash was over maintaining physical distancing. Some policemen and a few political party workers were injured in the clash. Police had to fire tear gas shells to disperse the crowd.

Meanwhile, six crude bombs were seized by the police in Muzhakkunnu of Kannur. They were found kept in a bag and a bucket.

Over 20,600 police personnel were deployed across the four northern districts of Kerala to ensure smooth conduct of the final phase of polling.

The results of the local polls will be out by December 16 when the counting of votes will take place. The counting would begin early morning and results will be known before noon. State Election Commission has informed that all arrangements are being made for the counting.

The counting will be done by following strict COVID-19 regulations. The candidate, chief election agent and the counting agent will be allowed inside the centres while counting. In Thiruvananthapuram district, from 7 am to 3 pm, there will be strict traffic regulations. In all other places too, police will be deployed to maintain peace while counting of votes is underway.

The counting will be held in 244 centres across the state. People can watch the election results live through the ‘Trend' website. Postal votes will be counted first. This time, apart from some officials, people who were in quarantine and have tested positive for coronavirus, have cast postal votes.

The newly elected local self government representatives will take their oath on December 21.

Related Stories

No stories found.
The News Minute