The secretariat has selected only 6 of the 15 party secretariat members

Kerala CPI M to declare candidates VS from Malampuzha Nikesh Kumar likely to be in the list
news Sunday, March 13, 2016 - 09:42

Finally putting an end to all speculation, CPI (M) state secretariat on Saturday reportedly cleared the candidature of veteran leader VS Achuthanandan in the upcoming assembly elections.

While CPI (M) polit bureau member Pinarayi Vijayan contest from Dharmadom constituency, Achuthanandan would contest from Malampuzha in Palakkad.

The Times of India reports that it is not sure whether the party general secretary gave Achuthanandan any specific assurance regarding post-poll arrangements, which the veteran leader had been seeking from the central leadership.

However the party secretariat has not given any clue over its Chief Minister candidate, that general secretary told media that CPI (M) does not have the practice of deciding its CM candidate prior to elections.

The secretariat has selected only 6 of the 15 party secretariat members, including Pinarayi to contest in elections.

The state party committee which is to be held on Sunday will officially declare all names of all candidates.

Sitaram Yechury, Prakash Karat and another PB member S Ramachandran Pillai attended the party meeting on Saturday .

According to the report CPI (M) offered Azhikode constituency seat to MV Nikesh Kumar, prominent journalist and son of veteran leader and CMP party founder MV Raghavan.

Nikesh and party secretary Kodiyeri Balakrishnan met at AKG Centre in Thiruvananthapuram on Saturday.


Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.