After the meeting, KCR and leaders of the TRS will meet Governor ESL Narasimhan to stake claim in order to form the next government.

KCR elected as TRS Legislative Party leader to take oath as CM on ThursdayTRS Party/Facebook
news Telangana 2018 Wednesday, December 12, 2018 - 14:44

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi won the Assembly polls in the state by a landslide on Tuesday, and on Wednesday, K Chandrasekhar Rao was unanimously elected as the leader of the Legislative Party. The party bagged 88 out of 119 seats in the elections. On Tuesday, KCR issued orders to all 88 elected MLAs to wrap up work in their respective constituencies and be present in Hyderabad.

All elected MLAs of the TRS were present at the meeting, held at the Telangana Bhavan in Hyderabad. After the meeting, leader of the TRS, along with KCR, will meet Governor ESL Narasimhan to stake claim in order to form the next government. KCR will take oath as the Chief Minister at a ceremony on Thursday at Raj Bhavan. It is tentatively scheduled for 1.30 pm.

On the day of the election, following his victory, KCR addressed the media and said that the new political formation would emerge as an alternative for both BJP and Congress with a national agenda to fulfil the aspirations of the people of the country.

KCR expressed his intention to take on national politics, and stated, “We have the responsibility to make our presence felt in national politics. The intellect of Telangana must be used for the good of India. We are going to play a very crucial role in national politics. We are going to show and give a new definition to the national political situation. There is confusion at the national political level and this needs to change. Unless it changes, the country will not grow.”

While KCR won from Gajwel, members of his family are also won with a significant majority. KT Rama Rao, KCR’s son and a minister in the previous cabinet, won with a margin of over 88,000 votes in Sircilla. Harish Rao, KCR’s nephew and the former Irrigation Minister, won with a margin of over one lakh votes in Siddipet.

The Prajakutami, the Congress-led alliance comprising the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), the Communist Party of India and Telangana Jana Samithi were decimated by the TRS. The TDP won two seats out of 14 it contested in Telangana. K Chandrasekhar dissolved the Assembly on September 6, almost eight months before the government’s term ended, and the gamble paid off.

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.