Yediyurappa can induct a minimum of 15 and a maximum of 33 ministers in the state cabinet.

Karnataka CM Yediyurappas cabinet to take oath on Tuesday
news Politics Sunday, August 18, 2019 - 10:28

Karnataka will finally get a cabinet of ministers on Tuesday, more than three weeks after BS Yediyurappa took oath as the Chief Minister for the fourth time.

A statement from the CM’s office stated that Home Minister and BJP national president Amit Shah approved the list of potential ministers on Saturday following a meeting with Yediyurappa.

“The state BJP legislature party meeting will be held at 10 am on Tuesday in the conference hall of Vidhana Soudha. In the afternoon, the oath-taking ceremony of the new ministers will be held,’ the CMO statement said.

This comes after the BJP faced strong criticism for CM Yediyurappa for not having district-in-charge ministers at the time of floods to monitor relief and rescue operations. The CM had earlier confirmed that the cabinet will be formed only after August 16 due to the flood situation. 

Yediyurappa can induct a minimum of 15 and a maximum of 33 ministers in the state cabinet, excluding the post of Deputy Chief Minister.

Speaking on this earlier, the CM had said, “All the castes and regions will be taken into consideration and will be given an equal share in the cabinet.”

TNM had earlier quoted party sources saying, “North Karnataka leaders are given more importance since our voter base lies in the coast and north."

Party leaders are also waiting to see the fate of the 16 disqualified MLAs, as Yediyurappa and other BJP leaders had promised 12 of them ministries in order to rebel against their own parties.

“If we announce all the ministers now, then there will be a problem. Once bye-polls are done, if the rebels win, then they will have to be allotted ministries. This is why a limited cabinet is being seen as the best way out,” a source had added.

The list of probable candidates are MLAs Jagadish Shettar (Hubbali-Dharwad Central), Umesh Katti (Hukkeri), Madhuswamy (Chikkanayakanahalli), Basavaraj Bommai (Shiggaon), V Somanna (Vijayanagar) and Shashikala Jolle (Nippani) from the Lingayat community; Govind Karjol (Mudhol) and S Angara (Sullia) from the Dalit community; B Sriramulu (Molakalnuru), Shivanagouda Nayak (Devadurga) and Balachandra Jarkiholi (Arabhavi) from the Valmiki Nayak community; MLC Kota Srinivas Poojary from the Billava community; R Ashoka (Padmanabhanagar) from the Vokkaliga community and Suresh Kumar (Rajajinagar) from the Brahmin community.

Read: K’taka cabinet may be expanded on Aug 19, BJP prepares list of ministerial candidates


Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.