Karnataka 2018: Re-voting in three polling stations across state on Monday

Two of them are in Koppal, one in Bengaluru city.
Karnataka 2018: Re-voting in three polling stations across state on Monday
Karnataka 2018: Re-voting in three polling stations across state on Monday
Written by :

The Karnataka State Election Commission on Sunday announced that repolling will be held in three polling booths across the state on Monday. Polling will be held between 7am to 6pm.

This after 222 seats across the state exercised their voting rights in a largely peaceful single-phase election after a period of high-octane campaign primarily by the two national parties— BJP and the Congress.  

One of the station were re-polling will be held is at Hebbal’s Polling Station No 2 at Gandhi Vidyalaya, Kannada and Tamil Primary School, Lottegollahalli in Bengaluru. This was decided by the Election Commission on Saturday itself after EVMs for this station malfunctioned.

A total of 1444 voters are set to vote in this station.

The other two polling booths were repolling will be held is in Koppal’s Kushtagi seat due to faulty voter list. The EC said that 275 voters were wrongly listed.

“They voted in a booth in which they were not listed. Their names were not in the supplementary list but in the mother roll,” the EC said.

The EC further announced that all other mechanical problems with regards to EVMs had been sorted out on Saturday itself.

“In all 164 polling units, 157 control units and 470 VVPATs had mechanical problems and were replaced,” the EC said in a release.

Polling in two seats in Bengaluru did not take place for different reasons. In Jayanagar, the death of sitting MLA and candidate BJP’s BN VIjay Kumar had resulted in postponements of polls.

While in Rajarajeshwari Nagar, the Election Commission has said that voting will take place on May 28 after the EC found a trove of voter ID cards.

In a late-night press conference on May 8, the Karnataka's Chief Electoral Officer Sanjiv Kumar had announced the large scale seizures. The following day, he announced that these voter IDs were of people living in slums and the whole exercise was prima facie an attempt for “cash for votes”.

Investigation is underway, meanwhile, the sitting MLA from Congress, Munirathna Naidu has been booked by police in connection with the case. At least two people have been arrested by the police in connection with the case.

Counting of votes will be held on Tuesday, May 15. A total of 11160 staff will be deployed for the exercise across 38 centres for the 33 districts. While Chitradurga, Dakshina Kannada, and Mysore will have two counting centres, Tumkur wil havel three and all the rest will have one counting centre each.

Related Stories

No stories found.
The News Minute