"I am a more mature politician than the others in the state and JSP will win the elections," Pawan said.

Jana Sena alliance will win Andhra polls Pawan Kalyan says he will take oath as CM
news Politics Friday, March 22, 2019 - 09:34

Actor turned politician and Jana Sena Party chief Pawan Kalyan on Thursday expressed confidence that he would take oath as the next Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, adding that his party, in alliance with the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Left parties, would form the government in the state, after the upcoming elections.

Pawan was speaking after he filed his nomination for the Gajuwaka Legislative Assembly in Visakhapatnam district. Scores of fans flocked to the municipal office in Gajuwaka town ahead of his visit, to catch a glimpse of the actor-politician. 

"We are going to form government and your favourite Pawan Kalyan will take oath as the Chief Minister. We have fielded winning horses in the election race. By fielding former CBI joint director V V Lakshminarayana, YSRCP leaders will not come for campaigning as they will shiver while facing him. In some places, we have fielded mass leaders. Our candidates are fielded based on who the opponents fielded," he was quoted as saying.

"I am a more mature politician than the others in the state and JSP will win the elections," he added.

Earlier this week, Pawan announced that in the upcoming Assembly elections, he would contest from two seats; Bhimavaram in West Godavari district and the Gajuwaka constituency in Visakhapatnam.

Pawan’s Jana Sena Party will be contesting both the Assembly and the Lok Sabha Elections in April. This is the first time that his party is contesting elections – in 2014, JSP had backed the TDP-BJP alliance, which later had a fallout.

Gajuwaka was a stronghold of Pawan Kalyan’s brother Chiranjeevi’s erstwhile party Praja Rajyam, and analysts believe that the latter's voter base has now shifted to Pawan Kalyan. Both Gajuwaka and Bhimavaram segments are dominated by the Kapu community, which Pawan Kalyan belongs to.

Elections to the 175-member Assembly and 25 Lok Sabha seats in Andhra Pradesh are scheduled for April 11. Polling for all 17 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana will also be held on the same day.

JSP has decided to leave two Lok Sabha and seven Assembly seats each for the Communist Party of India (CPI) and the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M). It has also offered 21 Assembly seats and three Lok Sabha seats to BSP. 

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.