The cabinet includes a mix of senior politicians, who were loyalists of Jagan's father and former CM YS Rajasekhar Reddy, and new faces.

Jagans 25 sworn in Full list of Andhra Cabinet ministers
news Politics Saturday, June 08, 2019 - 12:42

Hours after Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy on Saturday occupied his office in the State Secretariat in Amaravati, his cabinet was sworn in, inducting 25 Ministers in one go. There are three women in the cabinet.

It includes a mix of senior politicians who were loyalists of Jagan's father and former Chief Minister Y S Rajasekhar Reddy and new faces who had worked their way up from the ground in the YSRCP, since it was founded in 2011.

Jagan has also allotted the portfolios of Home and Disaster Management to one of the three women in his cabinet; Mekathoti Sucharithra.

Here's the full list of Ministers.

1. Dharmana Krishna Das

2. Botsa Satyanarayana

3. Pamula Pushpa Srivani

4. Muttamsetti Srinivasa Rao

5. Kurasala Kanna Babu

6. Pilli Subash Chandra Bose

7. Pinipe Viswarup

8. Alla Kali Krishna Srinivas

9. Cherukuwada Sri Ranganatha Raju

10. Taneti Vanitha

11. Kodali Sri Venkateswara Rao

12. Perni Venkataramaiah

13. Vellampalli Srinivas Rao

14. Mekapati Sucharita

15. Mopidevi Venkataramana

16. Balineni Srinivasa Reddy 

17. Adimulapu Suresh

18. Anil Kumar

19. Mekapati Goutham Reddy

20. Peddireddy Ramachandra Reddy

21. Kalattur Narayana Swamy

22. Buggana Rajendranath

23. Gummanur Jayaram

24. Amjad Basha

25. Shankar Narayana

Here are the portfolios.

Prominent faces

The YSRCP stated that the cabinet was 'socially inclusive' as all communities in Andhra Pradesh had found representation. This included many prominent faces from the SC, ST, BC and minority communities as well.

Senior leader Botsa Satyanarayana was a former minister under YSR and a long-time Congress member. He also headed the Andhra Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) for a brief period. He joined the YSRCP in 2015 and quickly rose through the ranks of the party. He will be the state's new Municipal Administartion and Urban Development (MAUD)

A senior party leader, Buggana Rajendranath was elected from Dhone in Kurnool district. Rajendranath is also the former Public Accounts Committee (PAC) chairman. He has been allotted the portfolios of Finance, Planning and Legislative Affairs.

Peddireddy Ramachandra Reddy hails from a politically prominent family. Just earlier this week, his son Midhun Reddy was re-elected as an MP from Rajampet and nominated as the YSRCP leader in the Lok Sabha. He is the state's Minister for Panchayati Raj & Rural Development and Mines and Geology.

His family was responsible for ensuring the victories of several YSRCP candidates in Chittoor district, the home turf of Chandrababu Naidu.

A former state minister, Balineni Srinivasa Reddy was recently elected to the state Assembly from Ongole for the fifth time. He was also a confidant of YSR and had served in his cabinet in undivided Andhra Pradesh. He is now the Minister for Energy, Forest, Environment, Science and Techonology.

Muttamsetti Srinivasa Rao, more popularly known as Avanthi Srinivas, was the sitting TDP MP from Anakapalle, when he defected to the YSRCP in February this year. An educationalist turned politician, he is presently the MLA from Bheemli, a prominent suburb of Visakhapatnam city. He has also been allotted the portfolios of Health, Family Welfare and Medical Education.  

It seems that Jagan has rewarded long-time loyalist and Gudivada strongman Kodali Nani for ensuring the loss of Devineni Avinash, who hailed from a prominent family whose loyalties lie with the TDP for decades. Nani also enjoys a lot of support among party cadre. He will be the Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs Minister. 

A relatively young MLA, 38-year-old Anil Kumar defeated sitting Municipal Administration and Urban Development (MAUD) Minister P Narayana, who also owns the Narayana group of institutions, and managed to retain his Nellore town constituency. Known for his firebrand speeches, Anil usurped a veteran businessman-politician, surprising many people. He is now the state's Irrigation and Water Resources Minister.

However, with other important names including close aides of Jagan like actor-politician RK Roja and Gandikota Srikanth Reddy missing from the cabinet, it is yet to be ascertained as to what plans the party has for them. The name of Mangalagiri MLA Alla Ramakrishna Reddy who defeated Nara Lokesh, son of former chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu, in the heart of Amaravati, was also not on the list.

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.