This incident happened in the 50th over of England’s innings when the ball deflected off Stokes’ outstretched bat and went for 4 while he was taking a second run.

Its a clear mistake Former umpire Simon Taufel on England being awarded 6 runs Facebook / ICC World Cup
Cricket WC 2019 CWC 2019 Monday, July 15, 2019 - 15:40

While the ICC World Cup 2019 final is done and dusted, the post-mortem among the cricketing fraternity over the result continues. After several fans slammed the ICC over the boundary rule, the latest debate is on whether England were awarded an extra run during the last over of their innings. 

Former international umpire Simon Taufel certainly believes so and said that a grave error was made in awarding England six runs -- instead of five. "It's a clear's an error of judgment," Taufel told

Chasing New Zealand's first-innings score of 241, England needed another nine runs from three more balls to win the game. 

In the fourth ball of the over, Stokes accidentally knocked the ball coming in from deep midwicket which was thrown Martin Guptill and deflected it off to the third man boundary, while attempting to dive for his crease with an outstretched bat, in a bid to complete his second run.

After consultation with Marais Erasmus and the rest of his umpiring colleagues, Kumar Dharmasena signalled six runs for the incident, meaning that England -- who by then seemed to be drifting out of contention needing nine runs from three balls -- were suddenly right back in the hunt towards their World Cup glory needing three more from two balls.

According to MCC law 19.8 pertaining to 'overthrow or wilful act of fielder': "If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be any runs for penalties awarded to either side, and the allowance for the boundary, and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.

Now, if one looks at this definition of the law, a conclusion can be drawn that England were awarded an extra run, i.e., they should have been awarded five runs instead of six. 

If one takes a close look at the video of the incident, it will be seen that at the moment the ball was released by Guptill, Stokes and his partner, Adil Rashid, had not yet crossed for their second run.

Hence, according to the latter part of the rule, it doesn't appear that the second run was completed. Also, in the law there is no mention on the part of batsman's action. But that was not the case and England were awarded six runs which eventually turned vital looking at the context of the game.

Stokes, on his part, did apologise for the unintended deflection off his bat. "I said to Kane I'll be apologising for that for the rest of my life," the all-rounder said. 

However, Williamson was left disappointed as he failed to take his team across the line and said: "It was a shame that the ball hit Stokes' bat, but I just hope it doesn't happen in moments like that."

"Unfortunately that sort of thing happens from time to time. It's a part of the game that we play. I don't wish to nitpick, just hope it never happens in such moments ever again," he added.

However, as former New Zealand cricketer Ian Smith said, "(There were) lots of sixes hit in the tournament, yet the most significant six was one that went along the ground."

With IANS inputs

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.