‘Hope for level playing field’: K’taka CM, other leaders react as LS poll dates out

The 17th Lok Sabha election is set to be a face-off between the BJP and the alliance forged by Congress and JD(S).
‘Hope for level playing field’: K’taka CM, other leaders react as LS poll dates out
‘Hope for level playing field’: K’taka CM, other leaders react as LS poll dates out
Written by:

Soon after the Election Commission of India announced the 2019 Lok Sabha election schedule on Sunday, Karnataka leaders rushed to social media platforms to express their confidence and reiterate their agenda for the fight in the 28 constituencies in the state. Karnataka Chief Minister and Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) leader HD Kumaraswamy expressed hope that the Election Commission would allow a “level playing field” for all parties in the Lok Sabha elections.

“India is set for another election. In this battle of democracy, I hope elections are conducted in a level playing field," Kumaraswamy tweeted after the announcement of the poll dates. All political parties and candidates must follow the guidelines issued by the EC and uphold the values of democracy and respect the decision of voters, he added in the tweet.

Meanwhile, the state BJP unit took to social media to express their confidence of Narendra Modi returning for a second term as the Prime Minister. “The dates to make India Congress-mukth have been announced. Hope the opposition is ready with fake narratives. Bring it on, we will expose them all,” tweeted the party's state unit.

Former Chief Minister and Congress leader Siddaramaiah, too, engaged in the social media battle between the three parties contesting the elections in Karnataka. "We are looking forward to this election as an opportunity to fight against fascism. BJP's loss will be a win for Democracy. This election will be an answer for fake promises. This election will be an answer for atrocities on Dalits,” he tweeted in a series of tweets raising issues.

Polling for the 28 Lok Sabha seats in Karnataka will be carried out in two phases -- 14 seats each -- on April 18 and April 23, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora informed.

The first set of 14 constituencies, primarily in south Karnataka, that goes to polls on April 18 are: Udupi, Chikmagalur, Hassan, Dakshina Kannada, Chitradurga, Tumkur, Mandya, Mysuru, Chamarajanagar, Bengaluru Central, Bengaluru North, Bengaluru Rural, Bengaluru South, Chikkballapur, Kolar

The second set of 14 constituencies in the northern parts of the state will go to polls on April 23. The constituencies are Chikkodi, Belgaum, Bagalkot, Bijapur, Gulbarga, Raichur, Bidar,  Koppal, Bellary, Haveri, Dharwad, Uttara Kannada, Davanagere and Shimoga.

The votes will be counted a month later, on May 23.

With IANS inputs

Related Stories

No stories found.
The News Minute