Accusing the Congress of ignoring the plight of Backward Classes, the former GHCC president had quit the party on Friday.

Former senior Congress leader Danam Nagender joins TRS
news Politics Monday, June 25, 2018 - 07:52

Former Congress leader and Greater Hyderabad Congress Committee President Danam Nagender, along with his supporters joined the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) party on Sunday.

Danam was welcomed into the TRS fold by party supremo and Chief Minister of the state, K Chandrasekhar Rao at Telangana Bhavan, the party office.

Miffed with the party leadership and accusing them of ignoring the plight of the Backward Classes, the former minister had quit the Congress party on Friday.  

The former minister and ex-MLA of Khairtabad wrote in his resignation, “In the recent times, I have tried my best to explain to the party high command both at the state and centre, the changing political scenario in Telangana state with particular reference to the welfare of the backward class communities (BCs) which comprise more than 50% of the populace. All my appeals have fallen on deaf ears.”

The Congress hit back at Danam and condemned the allegations. Attacking Danam for his remarks, Congress treasurer Guduru Narayan Reddy said that the ex-MLA of Khairtabad never fought for the cause of BCs but only fought for posts.

Deccan Chronicle quoted Reddy as saying, “Danam is known for opportunistic politics. He joined TDP when it was ruling AP. He returned to the Congress after YSR became the CM in 2004. Danam shifts to whichever party is in power. He will come to Congress if it wins in 2019.”

He further said that though there were leaders like Marri Shashidhar Reddy, Janardhan Reddy, who had won from the city, the Congress chose Danam as the GHCC president, because he was from the BC community.

Danam was with the Congress for over three decades, though he had shifted his loyalties to the TDP for a brief period and won as the MLA of Asifnagar. He later resigned from his seat, quit the party and returned to the Congress under the leadership of YS Rajasekhar Reddy in 2004.



Show us some love and support our journalism by becoming a TNM Member - Click here.