11 rebel MLAs who left the Congress and JD(S) to join the BJP are set to become ministers.

Former Cong JDS MLAs who won bye-polls to be made ministers says BS Yediyurappa
news Karnataka Bye-polls Monday, December 09, 2019 - 14:03

Karnataka CM BS Yediyurappa on Monday said that the former Congress and JD(S) rebels, who won the bye-election on a BJP ticket, would be given ministerial berths.

“We will give ministerial berths to all these MLAs who helped us come back to power. We had promised these leaders that they will get ministerial portfolios if they win and we will keep the promise,” Yediyurappa said.

The BJP currently has 17 minsters in the cabinet. When the Yediyurappa government's cabinet was announced on August 26, the BJP had deliberately maintained 16 vacancies. The Karnataka state cabinet can have up to 34 ministers. Yediyurappa had then said that the MLAs who manage to win bye-polls would be inducted into the cabinet. As many as 13 rebels were given BJP tickets to contest the bye-polls in 15 segments. Of the 15 seats, the BJP is set to win in 12 seats. Two rebels -- MTB Nagaraj from Hoskote and AH Vishwanath from Hunsur were trailing.

When asked about the disqualified MLAs who are set to lose the bye-polls, Yediyurappa said that the high command would have to take a decision. “We had promised them ministerial berths. We have to see how they can be accommodated. We will speak with the high command and see what can be done with those who did not win,” Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa said.

Stating that the victory in the bye-elections was a huge one, Yediyurappa pointed out that the BJP had for the first time, won an Assembly constituency in Mandya, which was once the JD(S) and Congress stronghold.

“I am from Bookanakere in Mandya and I am extremely happy to know that our candidate has won in Mandya. This is a big victory and I thank all the party workers, who worked day and night to ensure our victory. With this, the BJP has opened its account in Mandya. With the new leaders in our fold, we will work towards strengthening the party,” he said.

Speaking to the media, Revenue Minister R Ashoka said that the results proved that the Congress and JD(S) would soon be obliterated from the state.

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.