The HMRL is aiming to throw open the corridor to commuters by the end of this year.

On first anniversary Hyd Metro conducts trial run from Ameerpet to Hitec city
news Transport Friday, November 30, 2018 - 09:32

The Hyderabad Metro Rail on Thursday commenced its first trial run on the Ameerpet-Hitec City stretch, coinciding with the one-year anniversary of the project. HMRL MD NVS Reddy and L&TMRHL MD KVB Reddy, along with Metro officials travelled on the stretch which is part of Corridor 3 and made several observations. 

In a press note, the HMRL said that the 10-km stretch between Ameerpet and Hitec City had eight stations; Madhura Nagar, Yousufguda, Jubilee Hills Road No.5, Jubilee Hills Check Post, Peddammagudi, Madhapur, Durgam Cheruvu and Hitec City.

The HMRL also said that the engineering and architectural aspect of the Corridor was challenging as there were sharp curvatures and steep climbs. The organisation also pointed out to the court cases that have been filed against acquisition of properties for the project.

The HMRL is aiming to throw open the corridor to commuters by the end of this year.

In September, the Hyderabad Metro Rail commenced operations on the 16-km Ameerpet-LB Nagar line along one of the busiest corridors in the city. Telangana and Andhra Pradesh Governor E S L Narasimhan flagged off the train at the Ameerpet station in the presence of Telangana Municipal Administration Minister K T Rama Rao, other ministers and top officials.

With the 46-km length operational, the Hyderabad Metro became India's second largest metro rail network after Delhi.

Exactly a year ago on November 29, the 30-km stretch between Uppal and Miyapur was inaugurated by Prime Minister Narendra Modi who also took a ride from Miyapur to Kukatpally stations.  

This largest metro project in the world in Public Private Partnership (PPP) mode was conceived way back in 2007, but took a decade to be thrown open to the public.

Works related to Corridor-II between JBS and MGBS are expected to finish early next year.



Click here to follow TNM's coverage of the Telangana Assembly Elections 2018.



Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!

You can also support us with a one-time payment.

Rs 200Rs 500Rs 1500Custom