The numbers are not very different from some of the opinion surveys

Exit polls predict victory for LDF and up to four seats for NDA
news Monday, May 16, 2016 - 19:41

As polling concluded, exit polls predicted a victory for the Left Democratic Front, comfortably over half the half-way mark. But more importantly, it also predicted four seats for the NDA which has never won a seat in the Assembly elections until now.

Most exit polls predict up to four seats for the NDA while giving the LDF a comfortable victory over the LDF.

If on May 16 these exit polls predictions come true, the BJP will have proven a point to both the major political coalitions in the state which have been targeting the saffron party for its inability to even win one seat all these years.

Today's Chanakya gave LDF 75 ± 9 seats, UDF 57 ± 9 seats, BJP+ 08 ± 4 seats and 0 ± 1 seat for other parties. 

According to exit polls conducted by C-Voter-Times Now, LDF is set to secure 74-82 seats, the UDF 54-62 seats, and NDA 0-4 seats.

Exit polls conducted by IndiaToday-AxisMyIndia predict a clean sweep for LDF with 88-101 seats while the UDF is slated to get 38-48. BJP-led NDA will remain in the low single-digit figures with up to three seats. Between 1 and 4 seats are likely to go to others according to this survey.

Figures from News Nation exit-polls predict a hung assembly. It forecasted 70 seats for LDF, 69 for UDF and a seat for BJP.

These figures are not very different from the numbers predicted by opinion polls during the run up to the elections. 

Here are the figures for three opinion polls conducted by different agencies and news organizations.

Asianet's pre-poll survey are probably closest to the exit polls for Kerala. 

PartySeatsVote share

India TV-C-Voter's pre-poll surveys published in the first week of March show that the numbers are slightly on the higher side for the LDF, and on the lower side for the UDF

PartySeatsVote share

Mathrubhumi-axisMY INDIA's opinion polls figures are slightly lower than the results released by C-Voter during the election campaign

PartySeatsVote share


Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.