DMK Working President MK Stalin said that the party’s vote was an attempt to raise its voice against the anti-people AIADMK.

DMK to vote against Edappadi Palaniswami in floor test Congress remains undecided
news Politics Friday, February 17, 2017 - 21:08

A day before the floor test in the Tamil Nadu Assembly, the opposition DMK announced that it will be participating in the confidence motion and voting against Chief Minister Edappadi Palaniswami’s and his Council of Ministers.

In a news conference in Chennai, DMK Working President MK Stalin said, “In an attempt to raise its voice against the anti-people AIADMK, DMK has decided to vote against Edappadi Palaniswami.”

The Congress, which is allied with the DMK in Tamil Nadu, however, is currently undecided on the issue. Addressing a news conference, Tamil Nadu Congress Committee President Thirunavukkarasar announced that the TNCC had deferred the decision till Saturday morning, and would abide by the Congress high command’s diktat on it.

AIADMK leader Edappadi Palaniswami was chosen as the Legislature Party leader after VK Sasikala was convicted in the Disproportionate Assets case, and on Thursday evening, was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. However, the Sasikala camp has been facing opposition from former CM O Panneerselvam, who has managed to gather a few MLAs to his side, with 10 MLAs openly declaring their support for him.

The AIADMK has been claiming that 124 MLAs will be voting in favour of Edappadi Palaniswami. However, Mylapore MLA R Nataraj told TNM on Friday, that he will be voting against Chief Minister Edappadi Palaniswami.

"I have been all along saying I want unity in the party. I don't like divisions or factions in the party. But I respect people's feelings and I will vote against Edappadi Palaniswami," Nataraj told TNM. With R Nataraj now extending his support, the OPS camp has 11 MLAs on its side.


Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.