DMK loses no-confidence motion against TN Assembly Speaker

The motion was defeated by 25 votes.
 DMK loses no-confidence motion against TN Assembly Speaker
DMK loses no-confidence motion against TN Assembly Speaker
Written by:

DMK’s no-confidence motion against Tamil Nadu Assembly Speaker P Dhanapal was defeated by 25 votes on Thursday.

The motion failed with 122 votes against the move and 97 votes for it. The motion was moved by Opposition Leader and DMK Working President MK Stalin a month after the trust vote against the Edappadi Palaniswami-led government was conducted by Speaker.

On Thursday, the motion was first defeated by a voice vote. MK Stalin then insisted that a division vote be moved by Deputy Speaker Pollachi V Jayaraman. The Assembly was divided into six blocks for voting. While 122 AIADMK MLAs voted against, 97 DMK and Congress legislators voted for the motion.  

Eleven MLAs supporting O Panneerselvam were not present during the voting.

The DMK had earlier alleged that the floor test conducted on February 18 was not done in a fair manner, allowing Edappadi Palaniswami to win the trust vote. While Stalin had asked for the trust vote to be delayed by a few days and later sought for a secret ballot, both the demands were rejected by the speaker.

Speaker Dhanapal had then allowed the trust vote to take place after evicting the DMK for creating ruckus in the Assembly that day. The Congress had staged a walkout following its ally’s eviction.

After the no-confidence motion was defeated on Thursday, Speaker Dhanapal said that he will continue to remain neutral in the Assembly.

The no-confidence motion comes a day after the Election Commission froze the AIADMK’s two-leaves symbol and also barred the two factions from using the party name. While the faction of Jayalalithaa’s former aide Sasikala has been awarded the name AIADMK Amma, the Panneerselvam camp has been granted the name AIADMK Puratchi Thalaivi Amma.

The EC has granted the AIADMK Amma the hat symbol and allotted AIADMK Puratchi Thalaivi Amma the electric pole as its party symbol.

Related Stories

No stories found.
The News Minute