a face-saver for Siddaramaiah

Congress wins panchayat elections in Karnataka BJP a close secondImage for representation / PTI
news Wednesday, February 24, 2016 - 09:07

Reiterating its political strength in the state, the Congress won the Karnataka zilla panchayat and town panchayat elections in a close race with opposition BJP and JD (S)

The results of the polls, which were conducted in two phases on February 13 and February 20 were announced on Tuesday. 

According to the State Election Commission, out of 1083 seats in Zilla Panchayat in 30 districts in the state, Congress won with 498 seats followed by BJP with  406 seats and JD(S) with 148 seats. 

In Taluk Panchayat, Congress won with 1709 seats out of the total 3884 seats. BJP secured 1362 seats and 610 seats for JD(S). 

Congress bagged control over 11 of 30 districts in the state as compared to just four in the previous panchayat elections in 2011. BJP has control over 8 districts as compared to 13 last time.

Congress won more seats in 14 districts, followed by the BJP in 12 districts and the JD-S in four districts in Taluk Panchayat elections. 

During the 2011 elections, BJP won the elections with 353 seats and Congress with 441 seats in the Zilla Parishad elections. 

The BJP had won 1,500 seats and the Congress, 1,222 in the TP polls held in 2011.

Topic tags,
Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.