The Speaker has set up meetings with 3 of the rebel MLAs - Anand Singh, Pratapgouda Patil and Narayana Gowda - on Friday and will only meet Ramalinga Reddy and Gopalaiah on Monday.

Congress seeks disqualification of rebel MLAs urges Speaker to debar them for 6 years
news Politics Tuesday, July 09, 2019 - 16:13

Karnataka Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar on Tuesday said that eight of the 13 MLAs who submitted their resignations from the Karnataka Assembly have not followed procedure in their submissions. "Only 5 MLAs have submitted their resignations as per the format - Anand Singh, Ramalinga Reddy Pratapgouda Patil, Narayana Gowda and Gopalaiah," stated KR Ramesh Kumar said. 

The Speaker has set up meetings with Anand Singh, Pratapgouda Patil and Narayana Gowda on Friday, the first day of the monsoon session of the Karnataka Assembly. The Speaker will meet Ramalinga Reddy and Gopalaiah only on Monday.

"The rest of them have not submitted their resignations as per the correct format. Our office has intimated them to tell them this," said the Speaker. 

He further added that he has no role to play in the resignations of independent MLAs H Nagesh and R Shankar as ministers in the Karnataka cabinet. " All copies are available. I will be transparent and will provide all the documents. There is no need to do investigative journalism to get it," he added. 

 ‘Not resigning from party’

Meanwhile, in Mumbai, the ten Congress and JD(S) MLAs who submitted their resignations from the Karnataka Assembly said that they intend to meet the Speaker and resign but clarified that they are not resigning from their parties. 

Speaking to reporters at a hotel in Mumbai, rebel MLA ST Somashekar said, "We have grown in the Congress and even now we are Congress workers. We have submitted our resignations as MLA. In the last 15 months, there has been a public debate that the coalition government might stabilise and work for the development of constituencies. We have waited 15 months and we are hurt by one or the other issue."

Somashekar further clarified that the rebel leaders are united in their decision to resign and will meet the Speaker to formalise their resignations soon. "The Speaker has said he wants to meet us. As soon as he calls us to meet, we will go and meet. Till now, nobody has contacted us," he added. 

CLP seeks disqualification of MLAs

The Congress Legislature Party (CLP) submitted a petition to the Speaker of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly KR Ramesh Kumar, asking him to disqualify the rebelling MLAs who have resigned and debar them from contesting elections for six years. 

“Today we decided to petition the Speaker seeking disqualification of members who are trying to destabilise the government and indulging in anti-party activities. They have colluded with BJP and trying to destabilise the government. I request them to come back and withdraw their resignations. The party has taken a firm stand to request the Speaker to disqualify them. We also informed the Speaker that the resignations are not voluntary and genuine. This attracts anti defection law,” Congress Legislature Party chief Siddaramaiah said.

Siddaramaiah accused the rebels of colluding with the BJP and attempting to destabilise the government. He accused the BJP of luring the rebel MLAs by offering them money and ministerial berths. 

“Ever since this government was formed, BJP despite failing to prove majority in the floor of the house, they have been constantly trying to destabilise this government. This is the sixth attempt. In this attempt, not only is Karnataka BJP involved, but national level BJP leaders Amit Shah and Narendra Modi are directly involved in this. Only under their direction, the BJP in Karnataka is putting in efforts to destabilise the government. This is against parliamentary system of democracy and against the mandate of the people,” Siddaramaiah added. 

Speaking to the media, Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee President Dinesh Gundu Rao said that the party has an alternate plan to prove majority in case the rebels to not withdraw their resignations despite the ultimatum. 

“Speaker is supreme. He will decide whether or not the MLAs have to be disqualified. We have submitted all proof to the Speaker showing that the MLAs have indulged in anti-party activities. If they (Rebel MLAs) di not return despite the warning, we have an alternate plan to prove majority when the BJP pushes for a no confidence motion on July 12,” Dinesh Gundu Rao added.



Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.