While Vadakara seat is yet to be finalised, the Congress in Kerala has sent a list of candidates to the high command for approval.

Congress in Kerala finalizes candidates for Wayanad Alappuzha and Attingal seatsT Siddique/Facebook
news Lok Sabha 2019 Tuesday, March 19, 2019 - 10:21

Adoor Prakash is likely to be the Congress’ candidate from Attingal Lok Sabha constituency, while Shanimol Usman and T Siddique are likely to contest from Alappuzha and Wayanad constituencies respectively, reports OnManorama. The list of candidates for pending constituencies will, however, be approved by the high command before it is announced.

The Congress is, however, yet to come to a decision on fixing a candidate for from Vadakara, who will take on CPI(M) veteran P Jayarajan. 

According to reports, consensus on the Wayanad seat came after disagreement between ‘I’ and ‘A’ group of Congress. Mukul Wasnik, AICC general secretary in charge of Kerala, held discussions in Delhi with former CM Oommen Chandy, opposition leader of the state Ramesh Chennithala and KPCC chief Mullappally Ramachandran over the matter.

Chennithala had to finally accede to Oommen Chandy’s pressure, giving Wayanad seat to T Siddique, reports The Hindu. Siddique had also stated that he would not contest from anywhere but Wayanad.

Though Mahila Congress former state president Shanimol Usman’s name was strongly suggested for Wayanad, it was finally decided that she will contest from Alappuzha.

Meanwhile, Adoor Prakash, who will contest from Attingal constituency, is a sitting MLA from Konni. He has been a five-time MLA, having won from Konni in 1996, 2001, 2006 and 2011.

The Congress is now mulling over who should get the Vadakara seat, given that the Left has fielded P Jayarajan. The AICC was reportedly flooded with e-mail and fax messages urging it to field a strong candidate in Vadakara on Monday.

While some senior Congress leaders opined that Mullappally Ramachandran should contest from the Vadakara seat, he refused to enter the electoral fray.  Mullappally is the sitting MP of Vadakara constituency.

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.