It appears that the BJP has decided to take precautionary measures to replace Sampangi, who will soon appear in court in a corruption case registered in 2014.

BJP third list Sampangi replaced by daughter Ashwini as Kolar Gold Fields candidate
news Karnataka 2018 Friday, April 20, 2018 - 18:01

In the third list of candidates released by the Bharatiya Janata Party, the party decided to replace former MLA Y Sampangi as its candidate contesting from Kolar Gold Fields constituency. His daughter Ashwini will now be contesting in his place.

The list was released by the party on Friday, ahead of assembly elections in Karnataka. The list included names of 59 candidates adding to the 154 candidates already confirmed in the first two lists released earlier in the month. This leaves the party to announce candiadates names of 11 seats including Varuna from where Yeddyurappa's son BY Raghavendra to face Siddaramaiah's son Yathindra.

In 2012, Sampangi had become the first MLA to be convicted in a corruption case and sent to prison after he was charged with accepting a bribe from businessman HM Farooq. He is now facing fresh corruption charges in a case registered in 2014, which is set for hearing on April 26.

It appears that the BJP has decided to take precautionary measures and replace Sampangi with his daughter as its candidate from Kolar Gold Fields.



Karunakara Reddy, brother of mining baron Janardhana Reddy, was given a ticket in Harapanahalli constituency. The third brother Somashekara Reddy was earlier confirmed as the BJP's candidate from Ballari City. The three brothers  were convicted in the 2011 Ballari Mining Scam case. Janardhana Reddy is banned from Ballari as per his bail conditions. He is set to back BJP's candidate from Molakalmuru in Chirtradurga - Sriramulu. 

Meanwhile, the party also confirmed Gopal Rao as its candidate from Chamundeshwari constituency. Gopal Rao beat out competition from several aspirants and will now contest against Chief Minister Siddaramaiah from the constituency.   

Other standout names on the third list include former MLA Raghupati Bhat who was confirmed as the candidate from Udupi constituency. He will be facing Congress’ Pramod Madhwaraj in a repeat of their 2008 contest.

MN Reddy was named as the candidate from Sarvagna Nagar where he will be contesting against Congress heavyweight KJ George and AAP state convener Prithvi Reddy.

KG Bopaiah, current MLA from Virajpet, will once again contest from the constituency.

With the release of the third list, the party is left with only 11 constituencies where it is yet to name a candidate.