Prahlad is the younger brother of the party's contestant BN Vijaya Kumar, whose sudden death on May 4, had led to the poll being countermanded.

BJP fields late party MLAs brother BN Prahlad from Jayanagar assembly seatTwitter /Ashwini Sripad
news Karnataka 2018 Wednesday, May 23, 2018 - 08:54

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Tuesday nominated BN Prahlad to contest in south Bengaluru's Jayanagar Assembly segment poll on June 11.

Prahlad is the younger brother of the party's contestant BN Vijaya Kumar, whose sudden death on May 4, ahead of the May 12 assembly election, led to the poll being countermanded.

Kumar was BJP's two-time lawmaker from the upscale constituency.

A total of 19 candidates are in the fray from the seat, including Sowmya R. of the Congress, Kalegowda of Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S), seven others from regional and fringe outfits and nine Independents.

Polling will be held on June 11 from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. and the votes counted on June 13.

Polling in southwest Bengaluru's Rajarajeshwari Nagar assembly seat was postponed to May 28 following the detection of 9,564 voters ID cards at a flat there. Votes will be counted in the constituency on May 31. 

Meanwhile, the BJP's Lingayat strongman, BS Yeddyurappa, stares at an uncertain future although his party bets on his return to power again.

"Yeddyurappa will continue to be the party's state unit president till we return to power again. He will become chief minister again before his political career ends," Bharatiya Janata Party spokesman Vamanacharya told IANS.

Yeddyurappa, 75, resigned on Saturday before the crucial trust vote as he did not have the majority in a hung House, falling seven short of the 111-halfway mark in the 225-member Legislative Assembly, whose current strength is 222.

Of the 222 assembly segments where the election was held on May 12, BJP won 104, the Congress 78, the Janata Dal-Secular, 37 and one each by Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Karnataka Pragnyavantha Janatha Party (KPJP) and an Independent, leading to an inconclusive election.


ReadCong leader Parameshwara to take oath as Deputy Chief Minister of Karnataka

Show us some love and support our journalism by becoming a TNM Member - Click here.