Naidu reportedly warned TDP leaders not to make any negative comments on the BJP without the party's approval.

BJP and TDP leaders cross swords again in Andhra CM Naidu steps in
news Politics Wednesday, December 20, 2017 - 08:32

Signalling the rising tensions between two allies, members of the BJP and the TDP exchanged words yet again in Andhra over which party had ensured the alliance's win in the 2014 election. The two politicians crossing swords this time were BJP MLC Somu Veeraraju and TDP MLC YB Rajendra Prasad.

The skirmishes began on Monday after the results of the Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh polls. Following BJP's victory, Veeraraju held a press conference, and told reporters that the party would win a majority of the seats in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana in the 2019 elections. He also claimed that the TDP won in 2014, because of the BJP's support.

This comment irked Rajendra Prasad, who said that Veeraraju would not even win as a councillor, if it was not for the TDP. 

Veerraju upped the ante on Tuesday, stating that the BJP was not dependent on the TDP and was even ready to contest alone, if the situation demanded it. He claimed that the party also had a Chief Ministerial candidate.

Veeraju accused the TDP of 'non-cooperation' and said that the BJP was being blamed instead, for the state government's faults.

“We are not even able to get housing or pension for the for the party sympathisers and activists in AP,” he was quoted as saying.

“When we were preparing the list of candidates who would contest on BJP tickets in 2014 elections, Naidu, who issued a statement that there would be no alliance with BJP, changed his version and proposed an alliance with our party...Whenever the BJP strengthens its base, rival parties raise the issue of Special Category status,” he added.

The entire spat even came to the notice of Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu.

According to reports, Naidu immediately warned TDP leaders not to make any negative comments on the BJP without the party's approval.

Meanwhile, the Chief Minister sent congratulatory messages to BJP President Amit Shah and Prime Minister Narendra Modi for their victory in the recent polls.

Read: Will the BJP be able to breach the Telugu states after Gujarat-Himachal win?



Show us some love and support our journalism by becoming a TNM Member - Click here.