news Monday, October 27, 2014 - 05:30
The News Minute | October 18, 2014 | 08:48 am IST  Bangalore is all set to be officially renamed Bengaluru. The Ministry of Home Affairs has formally cleared the renaming of Bangalore to Bengaluru, along with the renaming of 11 other cities in the state.  This move comes almost 9 years after the late U R Ananthamurthy had made a proposal in 2005 to change the name of Bangalore to Bengaluru, state reports. Chief Minister Siddaramaiah is likely to announce the official renaming of all cities on November 1, which is the Karnataka Rajyotsava or Karnataka Formation Day.  According to a The Times of India report, with the Centre's clearance Belgaum will be officially known as Belagavi, Mangalore as Mangaluru, Mysore as Mysuru, Bellary as Ballari, and Hubli as Hubballi.  Tumkur will be renamed Tumakuru, Bijapur will become Vijapura, Chikmagalur to be known as Chikkamagaluru, Gulbarga as Kalaburagi, Hospet as Hosapete and Shimoga will be officially renamed to Shivamogga. 
Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.