Other invitees from Indian include Anurag Kashyap, Zoya Akhtar, Ritesh Batra and Anupam Kher.

Baahubali VFX director Srinivas Mohan selected as Academy member
Flix Cinema Tuesday, July 02, 2019 - 18:46

V Srinivas Mohan, visual effects director who worked for movies such as the Baahubali series, Enthiran and Sivaji, has featured among the 842 new members invited by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences to join the organisation which gives out the Oscars every year.

The 2019 invite put out by the Academy also includes other prominent Indian artistes such as directors Anurag Kashyap and Zoya Akhtar, Ritesh Batra in the writers’ category, actor Anupam Kher and visual artist Sherry Bharda.

On Tuesday, Srinivas Mohan tweeted the list of the Academy invitees, announcing his membership.

Srinivas Mohan has worked for many big budget movies in both Tamil and Telugu including Rajamouli’s period fantasy Baahubali, Rajinikanth starrer SivajiEnthiran and 2.0Gilli, Jeans, Indian, Malalyalam films such as KunjikoonanRunway and Mizhi Randilum. He is also the visual effects supervisor for the upcoming Telugu multi-starrer RRR, directed by Rajamouli.

Mohan is a four-time National Award winner, picking up accolades for his work in Magic Magic, the second 3D film in Malayalam, SivajiEnthiran and Baahubali.

In an attempt to diversify the membership this year, 50 per cent of the invitees from 59 countries are women. Of this, 10 categories have invited more women than men. New invitees from across the world also include Lady Gaga, Kevin Pollak, Claire Foy, Tom Holland and Adele.

New membership proposals to the Academy are considered annually and are by invitation only. Membership is achieved by earning an Oscar nomination, or by the sponsorship of two current Academy members from the same category to which the candidate seeks to be invited.


Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.