news Wednesday, May 27, 2015 - 05:30
With just a day more for Phase-I of Karnataka’s gram-panchayat elections, preparations are in full swing as poll officials and police personnel travel to their designated places. This election will also witness a few “firsts” – such as, 50% reservation for women of the total seats, use of electronic voting machines (EVM), compulsory voting and provision of “None of the above (NOTA)” option. The State Election Commission (SEC) missionary will be spending Rs. 66 crore for the elections and will deploy 1.93 lakh polling officials at 38,604 polling stations across the state. The election for panchayat-posts in villages in 30 districts has been split into two phases to be held on May 29 and June 2. Of the total 6,073 gram panchayats, only 5,844 will go for elections now. Elections in the remaining 229 panchayats will be held in August this year as their terms end then. According to a report in Deccan Herald, a total 3,24,259 candidates will fight for the 94,458 positions available. SEC has finalised 1,64,161 candidates for the first phase which will witness fight for 48,631 seats. Surprisingly, 349 seats will remain uncontested. The districts of Mysuru, Chamarajanagar, Chikkamagalur, Dakshina Kannada, Hassan, Kodagu, Mandya, Udupi, Belagavi, Vijayapura, Haveri, Bagalkot, Uttar Kannada, Dharwad and Gadag districts will exercise their franchise on Friday. In the second phase, while 270 seats will remain uncontested, 1,60,098 candidates are in fray for 45,755 seats. Bengaluru Urban, Bengaluru Rural, Ramanagara, Chitradurga, Davanagere, Kolar, Chikkaballapura, Shivamogga, Tumakuru, Bidar, Ballari, Kalaburagi, Yadgir, Raichur and Koppal will head to polls on June 2. The counting for both phases will be held on June 5 at the taluk headquarters. Read more: Alok 'lottery' Kumar IPS, the Bengaluru 'Singham' with a chequered history