Naidu, who is making efforts to unite all anti-BJP parties in the country, will meet Deve Gowda in Bengaluru on Thursday.

After Delhi tour to unite opposition parties Andhra CM Naidu to meet HD Deve Gowda
news Politics Thursday, November 08, 2018 - 08:07

A week after his trip to New Delhi, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister and Telugu Desam Party (TDP) President N Chandrababu Naidu is all set to travel to Bengaluru on Thursday to meet with his Karnataka counterpart H D Kumaraswamy and JD(S) supremo H D Deve Gowda.

Naidu is presently making efforts to unite all anti-BJP parties in the country for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections next year, and is expected to discuss the same with the two leaders. 

"Naidu’s visit to Bengaluru is in continuation of the process of uniting regional parties, and there is a possibility of discussing issues pertaining to bringing all regional parties together to fight against the BJP, with the support of national parties," Kumaraswamy was quoted as saying.

The two CMs had last met in August in Vijayawada. After the meeting, Naidu addressed reporters and said that he looked forward to engineering a coalition of southern regional parties against the NDA, with the aim of defeating it.  

Naidu's Bengaluru visit will follow his trip to the nation's capital, where he met Congress President Rahul Gandhi. The two leaders stated that opposition forces will work together to "defend India, our institutions and democracy."

Naidu also had a joint meeting with Nationalist Congress Party leader Sharad Pawar and National Conference leader Farooq Abdullah besides Samajwadi Party leader leader Akhilesh Yadav and his father, Mulayam Singh Yadav. 

Naidu, whose party quit the Modi government and the NDA earlier this year, said that he along with Gandhi wanted to forge a common platform "save nation, save democracy" for the opposition parties to defeat the BJP.

Last month, Naidu had Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, BSP leader Mayawati, Loktrantrik Janata Dal leader Sharad Yadav, former Union Minister Yashwant Sinha and CPI leaders D. Raja and S. Sudhakar Reddy apart from Abdullah. 


IANS inputs


Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.