When TNM reached out to the actor, he said, “I will discuss the reason after the event (Ilaiyaraaja 75) is over.”

Actor-director Parthiban resigns as Vice President of TN Producers Council
Flix Kollywood Saturday, February 02, 2019 - 18:11

Actor and director Parthiban who was appointed as Vice President of Tamil Film Producers’ Council (TFPC) in December last year has resigned from his post, a day before TFPC’s grand event, Ilaiyaraaja 75.

The reason for his sudden resignation remains unclear and has surprised many. When TNM reached out to the actor he said, “I will discuss the reason after the event is over.”

A little over a month ago, when Parthiban was made Vice President, Vishal shared that the decision to appoint Parthiban was arrived at unanimously. Parthiban replaced director Gautham Vasudev Menon and actor Prakash Raj, who were both the Vice Presidents of the Council until then.

Earlier last year, Vishal’s appointment of Kathiresan as honorary secretary of the Council was received with mixed reactions by council members. 

TFPC’s Ilaiyaraaja 75 has faced several setbacks ever since it was announced. Madras High Court on Thursday dismissed the petition seeking a stay on the event. The High Court was hearing a petition by producers JSK Satish and Radhakrishnan who were seeking a stay citing financial irregularities within the Producers Council. The Court also directed TFPC to submit financial records at the Annual General Body meeting, which is scheduled to take place on March 3 this year.

Vishal became the president of the body in 2017, after defeating producers Radha Krishnan and Kothanda Ramaiah. Previously, in 2015, he was elected the General Body Secretary of the Nadigar Sangam.

Ilaiyaraaja 75 is a tribute function planned for the music maestro by TFPC. The council has invited several bigwigs from the Industry to take part in the event. The event will conclude with a grand performance by the legendary music icon.

Vishal, Vijay Sethupathi, Arya, and Karthi will take part in the event along with Jayam Ravi, Jiiva, Vishnu Vishal and others. Also, many top stars have purchased tickets for the show in large numbers to raise funds.

Topic tags,
Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.