Some were nail biting competition and some cakewalks.

45587 to 43 votes- the range of majority votes in Kerala ensured a riveting election seasonAnil Akkara (Left) and PJ Joseph (Right)
news Friday, May 20, 2016 - 19:22

The Kerala Assembly elections saw nail biting competition between candidates in many constituencies and in some others, it was just a cakewalk. 

With 45,587 votes, PJ Joseph, UDF candidate from the Thodupuzha constituency in Idukki, garnered the maximum majority votes in the state. While Joseph got 76,564 votes in total, his opponent, Roy Varicattu managed to get only 30,977 votes.

Joseph was previously elected to the Kerala Legislative Assembly in 1982,1987, 1996,2001,2006 and 2011. 

Meanwhile, Wadakkanchery saw a neck to neck competition between UDF candidate Anil Akkara and LDF candidate Mary Thomas. When the final votes were counted after resolving a technical glitch in one of the voting machines, Anil Akkara emerged as the winner with a majority of mere 43 votes.

Before the votes in the last counting machine were counted, Anil had a majority of only three votes over Mary Thomas. 

Anil Akkara is a first time legislator and got a party ticket due to his impressive work as a panchayat President in Thrissur.

Topic tags,
Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.