YSRCP MLA’s son booked for assaulting traffic police in Hyderabad

Samineni Prasad, son of Jaggayyapeta MLA Samineni Udaya Bhanu got into an argument with the traffic police at Madhapur on Monday.
YSRCP MLA’s son booked for assaulting traffic police in Hyderabad
YSRCP MLA’s son booked for assaulting traffic police in Hyderabad
Written by:

YSRCP MLA Samineni Udaya Bhanu’s son Samineni Prasad allegedly assaulted traffic police officers in Hyderabad on Monday. Samineni Prasad is said to have assaulted a traffic police constable and a traffic inspector at Madhapur, according to The New Indian Express. The incident is said to have taken place around 9pm on Monday. 

According to reports, Krishna, the constable, was regulating the traffic at the Khanamet cross roads in Madhapur on Monday. When Prasad tried to drive ahead in his car in a direction in which vehicles had been stopped from going, Krishna tried to stop the vehicle. Taking offense to the constable raising his voice against him, Prasad ended up allegedly abusing and assaulting him. He also allegedly struck Inspector G Rajagopal Reddy with his foot, when the Inspector tried to step in. 

According to The Hindu, the incident took place at a U turn near Meenakshi Towers near Hitech City, where the police had been directing traffic at a small stretch where road diggingwork was being done. 

Inspector Reddy filed a complaint against 28-year-old Prasad, who was booked under IPC section 332 (voluntarily causing hurt to deter public servant from his duty), 353 (assault or criminal force to deter public servant from discharge of his duty) and 506 (punishment for criminal intimidation).  

Samineni Udaya Bhanu represents the Jaggayyapeta Assembly constituency in Krishna district. Prasad is said to be running a business in Hyderabad. Udaya Bhanu had been elected twice from the constituency earlier, in 1999 and 2004, on a Congress ticket. He lost to the TDP candidate in the next two elections. Though he had contested from the YSRCP in 2014 as well, he regained the seat this year, with the YSRCP sweeping the Assembly Elections, winning 151 out of the 175 Assembly seats. 


Related Stories

No stories found.
The News Minute