Another MLA quits TDP: Venugopala Reddy likely to join YSRCP

Venugopala Reddy was skeptical if the TDP would offer him a ticket, and hence decided to quit the party.
Another MLA quits TDP: Venugopala Reddy likely to join YSRCP
Another MLA quits TDP: Venugopala Reddy likely to join YSRCP
Written by :

Joining the bandwagon of leaders quitting the TDP ahead of elections, Guntur West MLA, Modugla Venugopala Reddy submitted his resignation to the Speaker and also the party on Tuesday. He is likely to join the YSRCP. 

It was speculated that Reddy would be quitting the party, after he started criticising the TDP since the past few months. Reddy reportedly took the decision to quit the party after he was uncertain if Chandrababu Naidu would give him a ticket from Guntur constituency. He did not partake in the recent meeting of finalising the names of candidates for the upcoming elections.

Before joining the TDP in 2009, Reddy was a member of the Praja Rajyam Party floated by actor Chiranjeevi. He emerged as a giantkiller by defeating V Bala Shourie of the Congress from Narsaraopet LS constituency. In the 2014 elections, Reddy was fielded from the Guntur West Assembly segment against his wish. However, he managed to win with a majority of over 17,000 votes, but was denied a cabinet post. 

Reddy, who was the face of TDP, had actively participated in the Samaikyandhra struggle (united Andhra struggle) in 2014. 

Several MLAs and MPs have joined the YSRCP in the last two months which include Pandula Ravindra Babu, Amalapuram MP, Chirala MLA Amanchi Krishna, Anakapalle MP, M Srinivas Rao and leaders like former MLA, Challa Ramakrishna Reddy, among others. 

Pandula Ravindra, a Dalit MP, alleged caste discrimination in TDP and cited it as the reason for his exit. He alleged that the TDP never acknowledged his accomplishments and did not give him the attention he deserved.

Out of 175 seats, the YSRCP had won 67 seats in the 2014 assembly elections. However, after the TDP-BJP alliance formed the government by winning the majority, 23 MLAs defected to the TDP.  


Elections 2023

No stories found.
The News Minute