AIMIM releases candidate list for Telangana polls, to contest 7 seats in Hyd

The party has nominated five of its seven sitting MLAs to contest from the same seats.
AIMIM releases candidate list for Telangana polls, to contest 7 seats in Hyd
AIMIM releases candidate list for Telangana polls, to contest 7 seats in Hyd
Written by :

The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) on Monday released their list of candidates for the 2018 Telangana Assembly elections. The party, with its core support base in the old city area of Hyderabad, will be contesting in seven seats. 

Of the seven seats that the party is contesting from, only two seats have witnessed changes in terms a shuffle in the candidates. The two seats that were shuffled were that of Mumtaz Ahmed Khan and Syed Ahmed Pasha Quadri.

Mumtaz Ahmed Khan, the present MLA from Yakutpura constituency, will now contest from Charminar while AIMIM General Secretary and present Charminar legislator Syed Ahmed Pasha, will contest from Yakutpura.

Quadri is considered one of the AIMIM’s strongest candidates. A close associate of former AIMIM chief Salauddin Owasi, Quadri had won the Charminar constituency in 2004, 2009 and in 2014 assembly elections. 

The remaining five candidates have retained their posts from the 2014 Assembly elections. 

Akbaruddin Owaisi, the MLA from Chandrayangutta, who has won the constituency four consecutive times, will continue to contest from his stronghold.

Mohammad Moazam Khan, who has been holding the post of Bahadurpura MLA since 2004, will contest from the same seat.

Ahmed Bin Abdullah Balala, who won the Malakpet seat successfully in 2009 and 2014, will contest again from the same seat. The party had earlier contested in the constituency in 1989 and 1994 without success.

Jaffer Hussain Meraj, the former deputy mayor of the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) in 2009 and presently an MLA, will continue to contest from Nampally.

Kausar Mohiuddin the MLA from Karwan will contest in the constituency again this year. Mohiuddin entered the political space as a replacement to Afsar Khan, the former MLA from the Karwan constituency.

This comes days after Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao said that the AIMIM was a ‘friendly’ party even though they would contest against the TRS in the elections.

The TRS has also fielded seemingly weaker candidates to the seven seats that the AIMIM is contesting.

Our goal is that public at large should benefit from voting for us and there should be development especially for minorities like Muslims and Dalits. In the Telangana election, there will be a majority government of the TRS. I'm convinced that KCR will be the next Chief Minister," AIMIM President Asaduddin Owaisi told a local media outlet a day later. 


Elections 2023

No stories found.
The News Minute