Bengaluru Police launch helpline to deal with deepfake menace

The police have urged people to call 1930 and register complaints if a person or known people are victims of a deepfake call.
Image for Representation
Image for Representation
Written by:

Bengaluru Police, on Saturday, November 18, launched a dedicated helpline to deal with the deepfake effect menace. Sharing a poster on how to get police assistance in case of spotting deepfake calls, the Bengaluru police said that people can contact 1930. The term "deepfake'' refers to a form of synthetic media created through the use of deep learning algorithms, particularly deep neural networks. These algorithms are trained on large datasets of real images or videos to learn patterns and features, enabling them to generate convincing fake content, often involving faces or voices.

“Don’t hesitate, act fast! If you or someone you know is a victim of deepfake, reach out to Bengaluru city police at 1930. We’re here to safeguard you against digital deception,” the Bengaluru City Police announced on its social media handle. The police have urged people to contact and register complaints if a person or known people are victims of a deepfake call.

Deepfake technology can be used for various purposes, ranging from harmless entertainment and art to more malicious activities such as spreading misinformation or creating forged content. It has gained attention and concern due to its potential to deceive and manipulate by making it appear as though individuals are saying or doing things they never did.

Read: WhatsApp video call from ‘friend’ turns out to be deep fake, man duped of money

The deepfake videos of actress Rashmika Mandanna, Katrina Kaif and Kajol had gone viral triggering serious concerns among the public.  Prime Minister Narendra Modi had also spoken about the deepfake videos and the Artificial Intelligence (AI) and also raised concern.

Join TNM and Newslaundry as we bring to you the most compelling reporting and analysis during the upcoming elections in Telangana, Mizoram, MP, Chhattisgarh, and Rajasthan. Click here to support our election coverage.

Related Stories

No stories found.
The News Minute