The buildings will have a 3-bedroom house on the top floor, and an office and other facilities on the ground floor.

New houses for Telangana legislators Each MLA to get duplex which doubles as camp office
news News Wednesday, March 01, 2017 - 16:48

Months after Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao moved into his multi-crore, bullet proof bungalow, the stateā€™s MLAs are also going to get new accommodation.

The state plans to inaugurate its first MLA camp office-cum-residence on March 2, in Warangal district's Parkala constituency.

According to reports, the two-floored buildings will have a 3-bedroom house on the top floor, while the lower floor will be equipped with a conference hall, MLA office, VVIP lounge and a waiting room for the public.

Spanning an area of 500 square yards, the state's Roads and Buildings Department plans to build 117 of these houses cum offices, for legislators. 

The plan was first proposed in April last year, and each building was estimated to cost the state exchequer Rs 1 crore.

However, the final bill for the first residence that has been completed, is slightly lower, around Rs 68 lakh, according to reports.

In November last year, KCR entered his new official residence, reported to be the biggest and most expensive residence of any Chief Minister in the country.

The new complex spread over 10 acres of land and with about one lakh square feet of space, was built close to the old camp office-cum-residence of the Chief Minister in Begumpet.

The complex named 'Pragathi Bhavan' comprises the CM's residence, office, conference hall and the two existing buildings.

In March last year, the state's MLAs passed the Telangana Payment of Salaries and Pensions and Removal of Disqualifications(Amendment) Bill-2016, which made the state's lawmakers, the highest paid, in the country.

The legislators' gross salary now stands at Rs 2.30 lakh per month, which reportedly cost the state Rs 42.67 crore per annum.


Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.