The BJP is very confident of winning both seats

Nemom and Vattiyurkavu lead in voting percentages in ThiruvananthapuramSreekesh Raveendran Nair
news Kerala2016 Monday, May 16, 2016 - 13:12

As Thiruvananthapuram slowly wakes up to poll fever in the Kerala Assembly elections, Nemom and Vattoyurkavu constituencies are witnessing fairly strong voter turnouts as compared to the other constituencies in the capital city.

By noon, both registered voter turnouts of around 35 per cent with numbers expected to go even higher as voting progresses. While veteran BJP leader O Rajagopal hopes to be the first one to break the saffron jinx in the southern state with a victory from Nemom, state BJP chief Kummanam Rajasekharan too is equally confident of his victory in Vattiyurkavu.

Rajagopal is squaring off against LDF’s sitting MLA V Sivankutty and UDF’s K Surendran Pillai in Nemom. Kummanam is up against UDF sitting MLA K Muraleedharan and former Rajya Sabha MP and LDF nominee Dr TN Seema.


News, views and interviews- Follow our election coverage.

Click TN Election Special

Click Kerala Election Special

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.