Both parties complained of 'biased' reporting, a day before voters went to the polls in Nandyal.

Nandyal bye-poll TDP lodges another complaint on Sakshi YSRCP seeks action against ABN
news Politics Wednesday, August 23, 2017 - 09:55

Despite just a day left for voters to go to the polls in Andhra's Nandyal constituency in Kurnool district, the TDP and the YSRCP continued to file complaints with the Election Commission on Tuesday.

On Tuesday, the target of the political leaders were media houses. 

TDP leaders Konakalla Narayana Rao, Kesineni Srinivas (Nani) and Palle Raghunatha Reddy lodged a complaint with Chief Electoral Officer Bhanwar Lal, alleging that Sakshi newspaper and TV channel had violated the election's model code of conduct, with its 'biased' coverage, aimed at defaming TDP and Naidu.

This is the second complaint against the media outlet, as Srinivas and Konakalla had met additional Chief Electoral Officer Anoop Singh in Hyderabad last week, and alleged that Sakshi, which is owned and managed by YSRCP leaders, was printing paid articles in its newspaper.

They also claimed that persons and vehicles belonging to the media house were being used to transport money, for distribution among voters.

Meanwhile, YSR Congress leaders G. Srikanth Reddy and others sought action against ABN channel for telecasting a survey on the election, overlooking electoral guidelines, The Hindu reported.

They also lodged a complaint with Bhanwar Lal alleging that TDP leaders continued to camp in Nandyal, even after the deadline for campaigning. 

This comes amid reports that theTDP deployed  six ministers and 60 MLAs in Nandyal for the bypolls being held on Wednesday.

The bye-election in Nandyal is necessitated by the death of the sitting legislator Bhuma Nagi Reddy, one of those who defected to the TDP. His daughter Akhila Priya, who too won as a YSRCP candidate from Allagadda constituency in the same district, is now a Cabinet Minister.

Both the parties have made the bye-election a prestige issue, as it is being seen as a referendum on the three-year rule of the TDP. It is also expected to indicate which way the winds are blowing in the run-up to the 2019 elections.

The Election Commission said that Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPATs) will be used in the bye-elections in all the polling stations.



Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.