news Monday, March 16, 2015 - 05:30
The News Minute | March 15, 2015 | 08:00 am IST A glittering ceremony marked the sixth edition of the Namma Bengaluru Awards which was held at the Chandragupta Maurya Grounds in Jayanagar on Saturday evening. Namma Bengaluru Awards is an initiative by the Namma Bengaluru Foundation (NBF) which celebrates and honours extraordinary acts of service by Bengalureans to the city. The NBA had received over 76,000 nominations in this edition of the awards. Katyani Chamraj, Executive Trustee, CIVIC, bagged the prestigious Namma Bengalurean of the Year award. The award in the RWA/CBO Category was conferred upon Whitefield Rising. “We are ordinary citizens. Each of us has the ability to be here (to get the award). If we seek change, we’ll have to first look within ourselves. Are you voting, are you segregating waste, what are you doing? Groups like us won’t be successful if citizens don’t take an initiative,” Nithya, one of the members of the group, said while receiving the award. This year, two new categories were added to the awards to recognise the efforts of foreign nationals living in the city and Non Resident Bengalureans working for the development of the city. “I am very happy and honoured to have received the award. It is humbling to be among such inspiring people”, said Sean Blagsvedt, CEO of, who received the award in the Foreign Resident in Bengaluru category. This year Vijayalakshmi Shibaroor of Suvarna won the award in the Media Individual Category. “I have been working in the field of journalism for 16 years now and I dedicate this award to all the sincere and hardworking women journalists”, an elated Vijayalakshmi said. There was a tie in the Citizen Youth Category which was won by Surendran M Krishnan (Volunteer For A Cause) & Shubhendu Sharma (Afforestt). “I didn’t really expect to win this award. It is a thrilling experience. Usually, we make others feel good through our work. But this award has made us feel good”, said Surendran M Krishnan, Founder, Volunteer For A Cause. Sandalwood star Ravichandran was the Chief Guest at the function. The Winners · Citizen Individual Category: P G Bhat · Citizen Youth Category: Surendran M Krishnan & Shubhendu Sharma · Social Entrepreneur Category: LabourNet · NGO Category: Akshara Foundation · RWA/CBO Category: Whitefield Rising · Media Organization Category: Prajavani · Media Individual Category: Vijayalakshmi Shibaroor · CSR Category: Canara Bank · Government Organization: NIMHANS · Foreign Resident in Bengaluru: Sean Blagsvedt · Non-Resident Bengalurean: B T Lakshman · Govt. Individual Category: Balegowda · Elected Representative Category: CK Ramamurthy Pictures: The News Minute/ Monalisa Das Tweet  Follow @thenewsminute
Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.