Friday, October 24, 2014 - 21:28

The News Minute | October 18, 2014 | 9.30 am IST

The 44th Kerala State Film awards were distributed on Friday. The award for best actor was given to Lal for his performance in Ayal and Zakhariyayude Garbinikal; the award carries a cash prize of Rs 37,500. The best actress was Ann Augustine and director Sudevan received the award for best film for his movie C.R no. 89. The awards were distributed by the Chief Minister of Kerala. 

In the award distribution ceremony held at Kanakakkunnu palace, Trivandrum, M.T Vasudevan Nair, noted writer and film maker received the prestigious J.C Daniel award, named after the film maker JC Daniel, who has made major contributions to Malayalam cinema industry. 

Chief Minister Oommen Chandy, Cinema Minister Thiruvanjoor Radhakrishnan, Health Minister V S Shiv Kumar were among the ones present at the function. 

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.