Holidays have been declared in six districts including Thiruvananthapuram, Idukki, Alappuzha, Ernakulam, Kollam, Pathanamthitta and Kottayam.

Kerala monsoon Educational institutes in 7 districts to remain closed on MondayPTI
news Monsoon Sunday, July 15, 2018 - 18:21

With the MeT department predicting heavy rains accompanied by gusty winds in Kerala till Tuesday, holidays have been declared for educational institutions in as many as seven districts on Monday.

All educational institutions in Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam, Idukki, Pathanamthitta, Ernakulam, Kottayam and Alappuzha districts will remain shut in view of the predicted heavy downpour. The holiday on June 16 will also apply to all professional colleges in these seven districts.

The holidays were declared on Sunday by the respective district collectors, taking into consideration, the heavy rainfall. 

In a Facebook post, Alappuzha district collector stated that although all educational institutions will be shut, all public and university exams that have already been scheduled will be conducted. 

"When a rain holiday is declared, students should not play in any water body, but instead make use of the holiday to sit at home and study," he wrote in Malayalam.

The post received several comments from students who thanked the collector for declaring a holiday. While students from Alappuzha district flooded the collector's post to thank him, students from other districts sought a holiday too.

"Sir, it is raining heavily in Kottayam also. Please ask our collector to declare a holiday," said one comment.

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.