news Tuesday, December 23, 2014 - 05:30
The News Minute | December 16, 2014 | 7:50 am IST Telangana chief minister K Chandrasekhar Rao is all set to add six new ministers to his cabinet and on Monday, sent the list of names to governor E S L Narasimhan.  The new ministers would be sworn in at Raj Bhavan at 11 am on Tuesday in the presence of the governor.  The six names include Tummala Nageswara Rao and Talasani Srinivas Rao, both of who were former MLA’s who recently defected from the TDP. T. Srinivas Yadav, former AP minister also resigned from the Telangana state legislative assembly and TDP, ahead of his joining the Telangana cabinet. Though he had been moving around with the leaders of TRS for the last couple of months, he had not resigned from the TDP. Yadav had served as a minister in the cabinet of N. Chandrababu Naidu in undivided Andhra Pradesh.  Telangana CM KCR however, seems to have forgotten his promises to the tribal people, with no new members representing Scheduled Castes except the deputy chief minister T Rajaiah, a report in the Times of India adds. There are also no women in KCR’s cabinet even post expansion with the chief minister sidelining heavyweights like Konda Surekha and Kova Lakshmi. In a swift move on Monday, he appointed Kova Lakshmi who is a tribal MLA from Adilabad and D Vinaya Bhaskar, MLA from Warangal as parliamentary secretaries to keep the people unhappy with the list at bay. Read: KCR announces three acres of land for each tribal woman; also plans to induct a tribal person into his cabinet Tweet
Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.