Kotha Srinivas Reddy, in his resignation letter, said that he was upset that the party was not recognising his services.

Karimnagar BJP president resigns after being denied ticket by party in TelanganaImage: Screenshot
news Politics Wednesday, October 24, 2018 - 07:54

In a major political move, the BJP's Karimnagar District President in Telangana, Kotha Srinivas Reddy, resigned from his post and from the party after he was denied a ticket for the upcoming polls in Telangana. Reddy sent his resignation letter to state BJP president Dr K Laxman on Tuesday. 

According to media reports, Reddy in his resignation letter said that he was upset that the party was not recognising his services and said that he had been actively working with the ABVP and the BJP for the last 25 years. He also thanked all party members and leaders who stood by him.

Reddy is said to have been denied a ticket in 2014 as a defector was picked for the seat. He also contested the Husnabad Assembly constituency unsuccessfully in 2009.

Earlier this week, the BJP released its first list of candidates for the Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram Assembly elections after long deliberations at a central election committee (CEC) meeting of the party. The party announced names of 77 candidates for Chhattisgarh, 38 for Telangana and 13 for Mizoram.

Releasing the list of 38 candidates after the CEC meeting attended among others by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP Chief Amit Shah, Union Minister JP Nadda told reporters, "The party has considered the aspirations of our dedicated workers in Telangana region. Adequate representation has been given to the representatives of all communities.”

All sitting MLAs including Telangana BJP President Dr K Laxman from Musheerabad constituency, got a ticket. G Kishan Reddy was renominated from Amberpet while NVSS Prabhakar is the party’s candidate again from Uppal. Chintala Ramachandra Reddy managed to secure his nomination for Khairatabad again as well.

BJP MLC N Ramachander Rao was given a ticket for the Malkajgiri Assembly constituency. Actor-politician Babu Mohan, who had recently jumped to the party after being denied a TRS ticket, was given a nomination from Andhole, a seat reserved for the SC community.

The Telangana Assembly was dissolved on September 6 and the Election Commission has said that the fresh polls would be held on December 7. The counting of votes will take place on December 11.


Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.