The union also considered filing a defamation suit on those who "maligned" JNU as an institution

JNU students union goes after sedition law passes resolution for abolitionFile photo: PTI
news JNU Wednesday, March 09, 2016 - 07:58

JNU students' union has passed a resolution to explore all possible means to get the sedition law scrapped even as it reaffirmed its condemnation of destructive and "divisive" slogans raised at the controversial Afzal Guru event on the campus. 

At a council meeting held late last night, the union said the divisive slogans raised at the Afzal Guru event do not represent the democratic ethos of JNU and demanded immediate release of Umar Khalid and Anirban Bhattacharya - the other two JNU students still in jail. 

"This council mandates JNUSU to fight against this onslaught and ensure that suspension of all JNU students are withdrawn and all criminal charges, including sedition, imposed on them are withdrawn. The JNUSU must also explore all possible means to get the sedition law scrapped from the IPC as this draconian colonial law has no place in a democratic society," the council said. 

The council, also mandated the union to file a defamation suit against those who have "maligned" JNU as an institution or its students and faculty members. 

The council condemned the conduct of JNUSU joint secretary Saurabh Kumar Sharma in the episode involving the incidents related to the February 9 event and also the role of Delhi Police in handling the case. 

"This council holds the 'council meeting' called by the JNUSU joint secretary on February 19, 2016, as null and void and thus the resolutions passed therein have no effect on the incumbent council," it said. 

JNUSU also demanded the resignation of registrar Bhupinder Zutshi for his role in targeting JNU along with the ABVP and BJP. 

The council reiterated its demand to scrap AFSPA and stop human rights violations against minorities, adivasis and Dalits. 

"The council also condemns the sedition charges that have been slapped against political leaders who stood with JNU including Sitaram Yechury, Rahul Gandhi, Arvind Kejriwal and D Raja," one of the 17 resolutions adopted at the meeting said.

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.