EP Jayarajan resignation: a look at ministers who quit in last two LDF ministries

Jayarajan falls to nepotism earlier LDF ministers resigned over sex and land scandals
news Friday, October 14, 2016 - 14:32

Kerala Industries and Sports Minister EP Jayarajan, one of the prominent figures of the ‘Kannur lobby’ of the CPI (M) resigned over nepotism charges on Thursday. Jayarajan is the first casualty of the five month old Pinarayi government. 

One among the three ‘Jayarajan’s who head Kannur politics in CPI(M), EP Jayarajan had secured the second best majority in the last Assembly elections, when he won by a margin of 42, 891 votes from the Mattannur constituency.

Though his resignation is sure to have a crucial impact on political dynamics within the party, ministers relinquishing office is not exactly a novel phenomenon for the Left in Kerala.

TNM takes a look at the history of ministers who had resign over various allegations in the previous two Left ministries in the state.

In the EK Nayanar Government from 1996 to 2001, Neelalohithadasan Nadar, the Minister for Forests and Transport- resigned on February 13, 2000. He was accused of sexually misbehaving with former Transport Secretary, Ms. Nalini Netto.

During the VS Achuthanandan Government from 2006 to 2011,  PJ Joseph, the Minister for Public Works resigned on September 4, 2006, after he faced allegations of misbehaving with a woman passenger while on a flight. In August 2009, he returned as Minister following his acquittal and again resigned in 2010 March, after the controversial merger of Kerala Congress (J) -his party- with Kerala Congress (M) led by K. M. Mani.

In the same regime, TU Kuruvilla, the Minister for Public Works resigned in September 2007 after facing allegations over a land scam in Rajakumari in Idukki district.

Other non-controversial resignations:

EK Nayanar Government (1996 - 2001)

  • Baby John -Minister for Irrigation and Labour- resigned on January 7, 1998, following health ailments.
  • Pinarayi Vijayan -Minister of Electricity and Power- resigned on October 19, 1998 to assume the office of State Secretary of CPI(M).
  • PR Kurup -Minister for Forests and Transport- resigned on January 11, 1999 following age-related ailments.
  • AC Shanmugadas -Minister for Health and Sports- resigned on January 19 2000, handing over his ministry to party colleague V. C. Kabeer to fulfill Kabeer’s dream of becoming a Minister, and also to avoid a clash within the Nationalist Congress Party.

VS Achuthanandan Government (2006- 2011)

  • Mons Joseph -Minister for Public Works- resigned in August 2009 to make way for PJ Joseph. 
  • Mathew T Thomas -Minister for Transport- resigned on March 2009 following an issue of seat sharing in the LDF. 


Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.