HD Deve Gowda to contest Lok Sabha polls from Tumakuru in Karnataka

The JD(S) supremo was weighing between Bengaluru North and Tumakuru in the run-up to the 2019 elections.
HD Deve Gowda to contest Lok Sabha polls from Tumakuru in Karnataka
HD Deve Gowda to contest Lok Sabha polls from Tumakuru in Karnataka
Written by:

Former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda will contest the 2019 Lok Sabha elections from the Tumakuru constituency. He will file his nomination papers on Monday between 2 and 3 pm, with JD(S) and Congress leaders joining him for the occasion.

The decision to contest from Tumakuru ends weeks of speculation about the JD(S) supremo's candidature in the elections. He was reportedly undecided between contesting from Bengaluru North constituency and Tumakuru constituency after relinquishing the Hassan constituency to his grandson Prajwal Revanna.

Deve Gowda had won three elections in a row from Hassan and had earlier won from the same constituency in 1991 and 1998. He had lost from the constituency in 1999.

The 86-year-old political veteran even mulled over whether he should contest in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections at all.

Deve Gowda also wanted to contest from Mysuru-Kodagu, but former Chief Minister Siddaramaiah quashed that plan as he refused to let go of the constituency and the JD(S) party was not offered the ticket from Mysuru.

Another grandson Nikhil Kumaraswamy is contesting from the Mandya, another constituency Deve Gowda had considered.

Finally, the former prime minister was left to choose between Tumakuru and Bengaluru North segments. A JD(S) source previously told TNM, “He has a slightly higher chance of winning in Tumakuru. This would be the best option for him now. If he takes away Mandya or Hassan, then there would be a huge family feud and his own family members will go out of their way to sabotage his chances,”

This time around, the JD(S) supremo has decided to contest from Tumakuru constituency after weighing his options. The JD(S), as per its seat-sharing agreement with the Congress in the state, is contesting from eight Lok Sabha seats.

Related Stories

No stories found.
The News Minute