news Monday, January 05, 2015 - 05:30
The News Minute| September 5, 2014| 2.30 pm IST Leader of Opposition and former Chief Minister of Kerala V.S. Achuthanandan was not invited for the swearing-in ceremony of Justice P. Sathasivam as the Governor of Kerala.  ‘The invitations for swearing-in are usually sent from the Raj Bhavan. I am staying at the official residence of the Leader of Opposition. Letters sent here do not go missing and I don’t know what has happened,’ the veteran politician told in his press conference today.    Meanwhile, the public administration department of Kerala has affirmed that the invitation to the veteran Communist politician was sent to his house.   The swearing-in ceremony was held in the Raj Bhavan today and the acting Chief Justice of the Kerala High Court Justice Ashok Bhushan administered the oath to the former Chief Justice of India Justice P. Sathasivam.    The LDF MLAs, however, decided to boycott the ceremony in protest against the Union government’s decision to appoint as Governor a former Chief Justice of India.  The CPM leader M. Vijayakumar has clarified that the boycott was limited only to the swearing-in ceremony and that the LDF MLAs will not boycott any programmes attended by the Governor in future, reported Madhyamam. There has been a lot of controversy over the Union government's decision to appoint a former CJI as a Governor. 
Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.