England and New Zealand were tied on 241 at the end of the allotted 50 overs.

England beat New Zealand in dramatic super over to clinch first World Cup titleFacebook/Cricket World Cup
Cricket WC 2019 CWC 2019 Monday, July 15, 2019 - 00:16

In a thrilling World Cup final at Lord’s on Sunday, England finally laid their hands on the trophy as they defeated New Zealand after a dramatic super over. The match, which extended to a super over — a first in World Cup history, ended with England scoring 15 runs as against New Zealand who also scored the same number of runs. However, England were declared the winners on account of scoring 6 boundaries more than the Kiwis.  

This marks the first time that England is winning the coveted title after coming close thrice – in 1979, 1987 and 1992 – when they ended as runners-up.

Ben Stokes’ stupendous innings (84 not out) helped England tie the match after both sides ended up scoring 241 in their allotted 50 overs. Then, he along with Jos Buttler scored 15 runs in the super over bowled by Trent Boult. Jofra Archer was assigned the responsibility of defending the super-over total by the English skipper. In a dramatic finish, Guptill was run-out going for the second run with the super over tied as well on 15. But England won by virtue of having scored more boundaries. 

Earlier, New Zealand won the toss and chose to bat first with Henry Nicholls (55), Tom Latham (47) and Kane Williamson (30) being the top-scorers of the innings. On a sluggish pitch, the Kiwis finished on 241 for 8. Plunkett and Woakes were the most successful bowlers for England scalping three wickets each. 

England were reduced to 86 for 4 at one stage and looked to be in trouble. A 110-run partnership between Buttler and Stokes brought them back on track. Stokes was the stand-out performer as he finished with an unbeaten 84 off 98 balls. He was ably supported by Buttler who scored 59 off 60 balls. 

Neesham and Ferguson starred with the ball for the Kiwis picking up 3 wickets each.

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.