Lok Sabha 2019
Following clashes between TDP and YSRCP supporters on the day of polling, YSRCP candidate Bhaskar Reddy had filed a complaint with the state CEO alleging malpractice.
File photo/PTI

The Election Commission (EC) on Wednesday ordered repolling in five polling booths in Andhra Pradesh on May 19 for both Assembly and Parliament seats--during the last phase of the elections. The five polling booths are: NR Kammapalli, Pulivarthipalli, Kothakandriga, Kammapalli and Venkataramapuram. 

According to the state Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Gopal Krishna Dwivedi, the EC after considering the reports submitted by his office and taking into account facts and material circumstances declared as void the polling in five booths in Chandragiri Assembly constituency.

On the day of elections on April 11, clashes took place between the TDP and YSRCP supporters. Subsequently, YSCRP MLA of Chandragiri, C Bhaskar Reddy, filed a complaint with the CEO alleging that voters of one particular community were not allowed to cast their votes. 

Repolling will be held between 7 am and 5 pm on May 19.

Chandragiri witnessed an intense battle between Bhaskar Reddy and Pulivarthi Nani. 

However, the TDP took objection to the decision of the EC. State president Kala Venkatarao met Additional Chief Electoral Officer Sujata Sharma with regard to the EC’s decision.

Speaking to reporters, Venkatarao alleged that the EC was being biased. He said that the TDP had filed 49 complaints with the Returning Officers soon after the elections. However, the EC did not seek any report from the Returning Officers, he alleged.

“But in this case, when the YSRCP leaders had filed a complaint on Wednesday, the EC immediately issued orders,” Venkatarao said.

Earlier, on May 6, repolling was held in five polling booths of Guntur, Prakasam and Nellore districts.  

Polling to 175-member Assembly and all 25 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state was held in a single phase on April 11.

With IANS Inputs