DMK, Shiv Sena, TMC, AAP, BSP skip Congress-led Opposition meet on CAA

DMK decided to skip the meeting as the party with upset with Tamil Nadu Congress Committee over the local body elections.
DMK, Shiv Sena, TMC, AAP, BSP skip Congress-led Opposition meet on CAA
DMK, Shiv Sena, TMC, AAP, BSP skip Congress-led Opposition meet on CAA
Written by :

A meeting of Opposition parties convened by Congress President Sonia Gandhi on Monday deliberated on the current political situation following widespread protests against the amended Citizenship Act and the violence on campuses. 

However, the DMK, Shiv Sena, Aam Aadmi Party, Bahujan Samaj Party and the Samajwadi Party skipped the meeting. 

The DMK skipped the meeting days after it was reported that the party and its ally Congress have been sparring over the seat sharing in the local body elections. Congress in Tamil Nadu had alleged that it has not been allotted a fair number of posts of local body chiefs by the DMK, stating that this was against ‘coalition dharma’. 

NCP supremo Sharad Pawar, Left leaders Sitaram Yechury and D Raja, JMM leader and Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren, LJD chief Sharad Yadav, Rashtriya Lok Samata Party leader Upendra Kushwaha, RJD leader Manoj Jha, National Conference leader Hasnain Masoodi, besides Congress leaders Rahul Gandhi, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Ahmed Patel and former prime minister Manmohan Singh were among those present.

Sources said top opposition leaders have already held discussions among themselves and Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad is leading the efforts.

The opposition is seeking to win over the youth and the students by supporting their protests against the amended citizenship law and any National Register of Citizens (NRC).

The sources said the Congress and other parties are seeking to take the students' movement forward and have lent support to their cause.

Last week, Sonia Gandhi had termed the CAA as a "discriminatory and divisive" law whose "sinister" purpose was to divide people on religious lines, and asserted that the NPR (National Population Register) in form and content was "disguised NRC (National Register of Citizens)".

The joint opposition move also assumes significance as it comes soon after Delhi Assembly election dates have been announced.

Elections to the 70-member Delhi Assembly will be held on February 8 and results will be declared on February 11.

The last time a majority of opposition leaders got together was at the swearing-in of Hemant Soren as Jharkhand chief minister.


Related Stories

No stories found.
The News Minute