Winning with a margin of 7,466 votes, this will be Uttam's fifth term as an MLA.

Despite loss in Telangana state Congress chief Uttam Kumar Reddy retains Huzurnagar
news Wednesday, December 12, 2018 - 07:26

Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee (TPCC) President Uttam Kumar Reddy has emerged victorious from the Huzurnagar Assembly constituency in the state for the second continuous time, with a margin of 7,466 votes. With this, he has defeated Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) candidate Saidi Reddy. This will be Uttam's fifth term as an MLA.   

After winning in 2014, Uttam Kumar Reddy represented the Huzurnagar Assembly Constituency in Nalgonda District from the Congress Party. In 1999 and 2004, he represented Kodad constituency after winning on an Indian National Congress (INC) ticket. In 2009 and 2014 he won from Huzurnagar. 

He was also the Minister for Housing during the tenure of Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy. A former fighter pilot, he also served as the Comptroller of Security, Protocol, Administration, Foreign trips of President at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Saidireddy Shanampudi, a Non-Resident Indian, has been very active in Huzurnagar which is one of the most high-profile constituencies in the state. Saidi, an IT professional, who has worked in the Caribbean and Canada. 

Saidi replaced K Shankaramma, mother of Telangana martyr K Srikanthchary, who lost the elections in 2014 on a TRS ticket. Even ahead of the polls, Shankaramma had lobbied internally for a ticket and was upset at being denied the same.  

"Telangana exists today because of Srikantha Chary’s sacrifice. There is no justice for the family of such a man. Imagine, if his own mother is begging and dying. There is no justice for me," Shankaramma had told TNM earlier. Saidi Reddy had promised that if elected, the development in Huzurnagar constituency.

The TRS was up against the Congress-led People’s Front, comprising Telugu Desam Party (TDP), the Telangana Jana Samithi (TJS) and the Communist Party of India (CPI) in the Legislative Assembly elections, for which voting took place on December 7. 

The TRS’ gamble of early elections paid off with the party scoring a landslide 4/5th win getting 88 seats out of 119 at stake, thrashing the Congress-led People's Front. 


Read: My son’s sacrifice forgotten: Telangana martyr Srikanth Chary's mother speaks out




Show us some love and support our journalism by becoming a TNM Member - Click here.