Ravi Shankar Prasad gets additional charge of Law ministry. MJ Akbar is the new MoS of External Affairs.

Cabinet rejig Smriti loses HRD Ministry to Javadekar Venkaiah takes over IB Ministry
news Politics Tuesday, July 05, 2016 - 22:08

Hours after 19 new ministers took their oath at the Rashtrapati Bhavan to join the Modi government, the portfolios of the new ministers have been announced. Smriti Irani has been replaced by Prakash Javadekar at the HRD Ministry, while the Textiles portfolio has been handed over to Irani.

Venkiah Naidu is the new Information and Broadcasting Minister, taking over from Arun Jaitley who was holding the portfolio along with the Finance Ministry. Naidu will continue holding the Urban Development ministry.

Ravi Shankar Prasad gets additional charge of Law ministry. MJ Akbar is the new MoS of External Affairs. Jayant Sinha is the new MoS Civil Aviation, he was previously the MoS for Finance.

DV Sadananda Gowda has been moved from Law to Statistics and Programme Implementation.


Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday carried out a major reshuffle of his council of ministers by inducting 19 new faces, elevating Minister of State for Environment Prakash Javadekar to the cabinet and dropping five junior ministers.

All the 19 new ministers sworn in at a solemn function at the Rashtrapati Bhavan are from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) barring RPI leader Ramdas Athawale of Maharashtra and Apna Dal's Anupriya Patel of Uttar Pradesh. 

The ministers were sworn in by President Pranab Mukherjee in the presence of Vice President Hamid Ansari, Modi, BJP President Amit Shah and several union ministers including Arun Jaitley, Rajnath Singh and Nitin Gadkari.

BJP veteran L.K. Advani and External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj missed the event but for different reasons.

The five Ministers of State who were dropped were Sanwar Lal Jat (Water Resources), Nihalchand (Panchayati Raj), Ram Shankar Katheria (HRD), Mansukh Bhai Vasava (Tribal Affairs) and Mohanbhai Kundaria (Agriculture).

The new Ministers of State are drawn from Uttar Pradesh, which will see assembly elections next year, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, Maharashtra, Karnataka, West Bengal and Assam, where a BJP government took office in May for the first time.

Delhi too got representation. Vijay Goel, although elected from Rajasthan to the Rajya Sabha, is a former BJP President in Delhi. 

The new ministers are: Faggan Singh Kulaste, S.S. Ahluwalia, Ramesh Chandappa Jigajinagi, Vijay Goel, Ramdas Athawale, Rajen Gohain, Anil Madhav Dave, Parshottam Rupala, M.J. Akbar, Arjun Ram Meghwal, Jaswant Sinh Bhabhor, Mahendra Nath Pandey, Ajay Tamta, Krishna Raj, Mansukh Bhai Mandavia, Anupriya Patel, C.R. Chaudhary, P.P. Chaudhary and Subhas Ramrao Bhamre.

Following is the new list of Council of Ministers Prime Minister
Narendra Modi
Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions
Department of Atomic Energy
Department of Space
Cabinet Ministers
Rajnath Singh
Home Affairs
Sushma Swaraj
External Affairs
Arun Jaitley
Finance &
Corporate Affairs
M Venkaiah Naidu
Urban Development
Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation
Information & Broadcasting
Nitin Jairam Gadkari
Road Transport and Highways
& Shipping
Manohar Parrikar
Suresh Prabhu
D V Sadananda Gowda
Statistics & Programme Implementation
Uma Bharati
Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation Najma A Heptulla
Minority Affairs
Ramvilas Paswan
Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution Kalraj Mishra
Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises
Maneka Sanjay Gandhi
Women & Child Development
Ananth Kumar
Chemicals & Fertilizers
Parliamentary Affairs
Ravi Shankar Prasad
Law & Justice
Electronics & Information Technology
Jagat Prakash Nadda
Health & Family Welfare
Ashok Gajapathi Raju Pusapati
Civil Aviation
Anant Geete
Heavy Industries & Public Enterprises
Harsimrat Kaur Badal
Food Processing Industries
Narendra Singh Tomar
Rural Development
Panchayati Raj
Drinking Water & Sanitation
Chaudhary Birender Singh
Jual Oram
Tribal Affairs
Radha Mohan Singh
Agriculture & Farmers Welfare
Thaawar Chand Gehlot
Social Justice and Empowerment
Smriti Zubin Irani
Harsh Vardhan
Science & Technology
Earth Sciences
Prakash Javadekar
Human Resource Development
Ministers of State
Rao Inderjit Singh
Planning (Independent Charge)
Urban Development
Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation
Bandaru Dattatreya
Labour & Employment (Independent Charge)
Rajiv Pratap Rudy
Skill Development & Entrepreneurship (Independent Charge) Vijay Goel
Youth Affairs and Sports (Independent Charge) Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation Shripad Yesso Naik
AAYUSH (Independent Charge)
Dharmendra Pradhan
Petroleum and Natural Gas (Independent Charge) Piyush Goyal
Power (Independent Charge)
Coal (Independent Charge)
New and Renewable Energy (Independent Charge) Mines (Independent Charge)
Jitendra Singh
Development of North Eastern Region (Independent Charge) Prime Minister's Office
Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions
Department of Atomic Energy
Department of Space
Nirmala Sitharaman
Commerce and Industry (Independent Charge) Mahesh Sharma
Culture (Independent Charge)
Tourism (Independent Charge)
Manoj Sinha
Communications (Independent Charge)
Anil Madhav Dave
Environment, Forest and Climate Change (Independent Charge) V K Singh
External Affairs
Santosh Kumar Gangwar
Faggan Singh Kulaste
Health & Family Welfare
Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi
Minority Affairs
Parliamentary Affairs
S S Ahluwalia
Agriculture & Farmers Welfare
Parliamentary Affairs
Ramdas Athawale
Social Justice & Empowerment
Ram Kripal Yadav
Rural Development
Haribhai Parthibhai Chaudhary
Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises
Giriraj Singh
Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises
Hansraj Gangaram Ahir
Home Affairs
G M Siddeshwara
Heavy Industries & Public Enterprises
Ramesh Chandappa Jigajinagi
Drinking Water & Sanitation
Rajen Gohain
Parshottam Rupala
Agriculture & Farmers Welfare
Panchayati Raj
M J Akbar
External Affairs
Upendra Kushwaha
Human Resources Development
Radhakrishnan P
Road Transport & Highways

With agency inputs

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.